November 15, 2005

my son - the criminal

OK, so I have to write this entry. But before I get to the potential catastophic event this last weekend, an update:

Still working on our business.

Still working on my beads for potential business (working up my inventory).

I will no longer be Amy's labor/delivery partner... She has Plecenta Previa, right below the baby's head, so she's been scheduled for a C-Section.

My in-laws are coming for Christmas - with on of their other grandkids. For 4 days. In my little house. There will be a cleaning service involved.

And now for what happened. We always take family naps on the weekend. The result of our divide and conquer philosophy - if we allow the boys to stay together, they don't sleep, and Logan in particular needs his nap. So on Saturday, we all went to bed. Set the alarm, so we wouldn't sleep too late by accident, shut the door and tucked everyone (including the grownups) in.

A side note: The door has a child proof lock (Ha!) over the doorknob. That my mother cannot open. I have to let her out.

We get woken up by 2 sharp raps on our front window. Jay goes out to see what's up. I hear voices. He doesn't come back in, so I go out to investigate. Logan was still asleep in our bed. I go out and there are 4 cop cars in and around our driveway. I ask Jay what's up thinking a neighbors transformer blew (again) or something. He asks me... Missing anyone? Did an inventory in my head - well no! Joseph decided he was going to the movies. And asking us, we'd say no, so why bother. He left, figured out the child lock, crossed two streets, and ended up in the intersection of the movie theater down the street. He was being corralled by numerous pedestrians, but wouldn't go with them - one of them got fed up, and called the cops. He went with the cops and told them where he lived. He was wearing his t-shirt, underwear (backwards), and his rain galoshes. Bad = leaving without us, crossing streets without us. Good = Didn't talk to strangers, went with police, told them his name and address.

People, this child is 5! He's not allowed, nor has ever been allowed to go ANYWHERE without us or his grandparents! And he also knows he has to hold hands to cross the street!

They talked to us for a while before they let Joseph out of the car. There was Jay, shirtless, tatooed, and looking the angry former marine he is. Then there's me, no bra, in a shirt I would NEVER wear in public, no glasses, so squinting, and my hair looking like wild woman of Borneo (we were napping remember?)

They didn't call Family Services, thank You God! They let him out and that was that.

Well, that and grounding. Grounding a 5 year old! This was definitely called for.

My son has already had his brush with the law, and ridden in the back of a police car. I told him, this better be the last time - for the rest of his life.

Think he'll remember?

0 comments so far

7:37 a.m.