October 24, 2005

temper tantrum

I feel like I'm hanging on by a thread. My boss has been gone for the last week and a half, so I was her for that time. Today's her first day back, so we're catching up on everything. The whole house is sick. Dangnabbit, I'm fighting it. Ok, so maybe I'm sick to, but I had to take care of them (all THREE kids if you count my husband). Now I'm just hoping I don't get a phone call to pick one of them up. My parents aren't home to take them (they fled to Las Vegas - there's only so much they can take), and Jay only has 4 hours of sick time left. Technically I have the time, be it sick or vacation, but my boss just got back, we're all facing layoffs, this is just not a good time to take time off.

I just feel spread really really thin.

I'm a little proud of myself though. I haven't really let the house go, and I haven't let my devotional time go. My normal M.O. when overwhelmed is to drop everything and sleep. Actually, that happens when I'm depressed as well. I just get this overwhelming tiredness and must sleep. Must. I think it's my personal defense mechanism. But my point here is, I didn't. That's something for me to feel good about.

In fact, I think I'm going to take a break here at work and do a mini-devotional. I keep my pocket Bible here at work for that purpose. My boss is a Christian, or else I may have issues with "Flaunting my religion." I'm very blessed not to have that here.

But I must say, I think I may have to cross over from "I'm fighting it" to "I'm sick."

In our business (link in left hand bar) we sell echinacea tablets, tincture, and throat spray. I really need to get on the ball and buy this stuff BEFORE I need it. Like bandaids.

All right, I guess I have to go back to work. I suppose I'm done whining for now, and have to go back to being a grownup.

I don't wanna.

0 comments so far

11:22 a.m.