December 08, 2004

do you think Santa would mind?

So I'm a "finalist" on one of the jobs I really want! This is good. I really want that job for a lot of reasons. I have a lot of irons in the fire in addition to that, but I just loved the woman I'd be working for, and it would be a very interesting job. I want it! Waaa!

Did some holiday shopping today. Mind you, we have no money. I can't even go grocery shopping so I've been making some - er - interesting meal combinations... But, we should me getting an income soon, so I did some holiday shopping at target and put it on my wishlist so when I was ready I could just buy it. Or if it's too late for shipping, I'd know what I was looking for at the store. I found a CD holder for Jay, since his is falling apart, as well as a comfy robe, since his is falling apart. Of all things, Joseph asked for a Spiderman bed (which means sheets and a comfortor) for Christmas. And I thought I would get them a table set for the kitchen, since Logan can feed himself now, and they eat peaceably together. That would be their "big" gift. I'll be going to big lots for the other things on Joseph's list. He asked for the following, in no particular order: Hot Wheels in my socks, GI Joe, Dinosaur, and big trucks. Of course, I'll have to duplicate everything since Logan will freak if he doesn't get everything the same as his big brother. So big lots - el cheapo me, they break everything after all - it is for that stuff. Except for GI Joe. Do you know how difficult that particular gentleman is to find??

As for me, even though my husband hasn't asked, I want a larger version of the George Foreman grill, and one of those bikini shaver thingies. A gift card for some clothes would be nice. Of course, he'll try to buy me books. Every year he buys me books. This is good. The problem is that EVERY YEAR - I'm not exagerating - he gets me books that I already own. Perhaps a bookstore gift card? He doesn't read this though, so hinting will have to be done. This is, of course, assuming that we'll be able to get each other anything at all. Which at this point is up in the air.

I've tried getting into the holiday spirit, really I have. But there's a big hole in the corner. The house is decorated, but we don't have any money yet for a tree. I hate that empty hole. And Jay hasn't been able to put up the outside lights due to it being so dark when he gets home, and last weekend he was too wiped out from his business trip. So without all the lights, it just feels like a dark Christams. I don't know. I remember last Christmas was just as bleak, as then Jay was still in the strike.

Sigh.

Does it ever get better? I mean really better? Every time I think we're going to catch a break, something happens - like getting laid off a month before Christmas. I mean, come on. You couldn't wait until after the holidays?? One more month?

So, I keep putting on this very cheerful face for my 4 year old who is finally old enough to really be into Christmas. Every day, he comes in the house - he says he has to check if the tree came yet, or if Santa was here yet. So, I've been extremely cheerful, and put decorations in their room, and explained when Santa comes, and showed him on the calendar. We even wrote a freekin' letter to Santa the other night.

Frankly, at the moment, I want to bash Santa's head in.

but I'm not violent.

So I'll just think about it.

0 comments so far

2:43 p.m.