December 10, 2004

the tree goes BAM!

I just realized that I totally and completely forgot to update yesterday. Yeah, didn't take long to screw up Holidailies. Hmph.

So night before last, we turned in all the change in the house in order to buy a Christmas tree. I just couldn't take one more, "Dija get my Christmas Tree yet?" from Joseph. We got it all decorated, good to go. I was feeling under the weather (still am) and grumpy. So I put on Miracle on 34th Street. The original in black and white, and sure enough I actually started to feel the Christmas spirit a little bit. Finally.

Oh yeah. Then the tree fell down in the middle of the night.

Sigh.

In other news, I've got this little anxious ball in my stomach. First, I got a call saying that I was one of two contenders for a job that I really really want. This is the only job that I REALLY want out of the hundreds of thousands of job interviews I went on. Mind you, I would take the other jobs, and could do them, but this is the one I really wanted. So I was waiting on pins and needles. Then the HR lady called me yesterday to say that the person who would be my boss told her to go ahead and run my references and background check. This is good. This must be done before an offer is made. Hence, my anxiety. You see, I have no idea if they do a credit check. I also have no idea who they call. I'm nervous about that. But also, I'm going on a second interview today, which could lead to an offer today or Monday. And another interview on Tuesday that could lead to a same day offer. I've already been told this. However, the background check for the job I really really want is going to take 5 days. 5 Business Days - and tomorrow starts the weekend. So now - do I take the offers if they come before the job I want gets ready for an offer?

Jay told me that first of all, I'm being nuts since I have NO offers on the table at all at the moment. He's right. Then he said, if I do get offers, just say that I have gotten several offers in the same few days and I need some time to discuss with my family which is the right one. If they say no, they need an answer right now - then the answer is no. I don't need to be pressured. And he's right again. So that's what I'm going to do. If, of course, I get any offers at all.

What I really wanted was a job before Christmas in order to actually have presents under the tree, but we're cutting too close now. At this point, even if I started somewhere on Monday, I probably wouldn't get my first paycheck til the week after. Damn.

0 comments so far

8:18 a.m.