October 13, 2003

Michele - Pissed

I'm sick. With a cold that made it's way into my chest. And I went to work. Why? Because the kids are home today, and it's more restful for me to work than take care of them.

So. Those of you who live in Southern California (I think it effects those from Santa Barbara to San Diego) know about the SuperMarket Strike. My husband works for one of those chains. I'm asking you, as a wife and mother, not to cross the picket lines in your area. Find another grocery store, and support those workers. To put a face with it, let me tell you what my family is facing.

Under the new contract, we would be losing about $800 per month. And we don't make too much, so this is a lot. This is why: We will lose dental, and vision, and will have to pay for our medical. Per person. We have a 4 person family. We will lose all night pay, Sunday pay, some holiday pay, and 6th day pay. My husband works all nights, always covers Sunday, always is asked to work holidays, and covers for his boss, making him work 6 days a week. In addition, we will lose most of our pension, some of our retirement, and Jay will receive no raises or promotions for 5 years. That includes cost of living increases. None. It also might be interesting to mention that when the new contract went to negotiations, the union asked for the same contract they had. They didn't want anything in addition, and they didn't want more money. However, the store came back with the above. So, for our family, we'll be losing $800 a month (in other words he'll be going from $2000 to $1200 a month) on this contract. For the same work, same amount of hours. Actually we'll be losing more, that's not counting the no raises, pension, and retirement losses.

And to the people on the news that I saw saying that the strike was un-necessary, and that the union members are "stupid" and "lazy"... I'd like to say that my husband is one of the most hard-working individuals I've ever come across. He's worked for this company, nights, for almost 5 years, so that he could get an education and help with the kids - he didn't want them in child care full time. He runs on about 4 hours - 5 hours a day sleep, if that, except on the weekend, when I can be home with the kids. They called him in to work the nights that both children were born - and he went, afraid he'd lose his job. He's been called on at 3am to cover for someone sick, and he went. He's worked with back spasms, stitches, glass in his eye, and the nights that his knees were drained - all work related injuries mind you, but he worked anyway.

So don't you DARE to call my husband lazy. You just need an excuse to rationalize your way through crossing the picket line, because you don't want to take the time to use another grocery store - because you're too selfish to think about someone else's reasons enough to support them.

And if you think I'm wrong, email me. I welcome you to. However, you need to remember that this isn't a debate. We're talking about my family's future, and I'm heated.

0 comments so far

10:37 a.m.