September 01, 2003

so much sorrow and other miscellania

Sometimes reading others' journals really make me ache for them. Sometimes, when I know what the entry is going to be about, I don't read, just skim, because I can't bear to feel the pain just emanating from their words. One jounaler's grandma died today. Another journaler is waiting for lumpectomy results with her mother. Others are in the process of breaking up with long time spouses.

I understand their pain. And I feel so helpless when I read what's in their thoughts, and there's nothing I can do to help, or comfort, or asuage. I want to just hug them. And yet, they are a perfect stranger in another state - or another country, whom I wouldn't know if I saw them on the street.

It seems like everyone I know in the journals that I read is going through something tragic or painful, or life altering.

But it helps them to know that someone out there, that stranger looking at their computer, is reading their words, listening to their pain, listening to them in a way that no one in their real life can. They need that.

So I'll continue to read. And I'll continue to feel their pain.

Jumping topics here...

We're starting a new chapter in our quest for fiscall solvency. This month is the month we're keeping track of every single cent, so that at the end of the month we can see where all the money is going. I wonder if just knowing that I'm going to be keeping track of it will help me noit to spend it.

Jay and I had a long weekend. We spent it watching the entire first season of "24". We cannot imagine watching that show on a week by week basis! We were watching hours at a time, but we couldn't stand to wait.

We going to a Labor Day bbq at Amy's house. It will not be fun. It will be exhausting, because we're taking the kids. So I'll be chasing them all day. Why does no one else seem to think that this is not fun??

But then again, my parents are coming home from vacation today. You think they'll be here early enough? Think they'll have missed the kids enought to take them? Me neither.

0 comments so far

8:21 a.m.