August 22, 2001

8/22

I know it's been a long time since I updated. But here I am. Let's see... Joseph is growing by leaps and bounds. HUGE leaps and bounds. His vocabulary is improving every day.

We had the visit with the in-laws. I don't really want to get into details (read: I can stop thinking about it now), but the visit went A LOT better than I thought it would. REALLY. So, I can now let it go and move on I think.

Jay is doing great. He wants a new tattoo. He designed it himself. It really is a great design. Jay is really quite talented with drawing. It'll be a little bit of money, and he's just going to have to wait until we have it. I control the purse strings around here, and so, he's trying to negotiate with me. "If my paycheck is $xx, then can I get it?" We're tight on money, and he's just going to have to wait for a non-necessity.

Speaking of money, Joseph is going to be starting pre-school in about a year. Having heard about waiting list nightmares, I started the research and found the perfect school. Trouble is, preschool isn't public. But I found a parenting co-op that I will be very comfortable sending Joseph to. We don't have the tuition though. It'll be $100 a month. Really not bad, since all the other schools in the area are $300 - $800 per month. This money is money we don't have each month however. So, Jay and I came to the decision that I will be working again. You see, since Joseph was a month early, there are some skills he hasn't gotten the hang of, which he should by this age. He should be all caught up by age 4 or 5. However, I'd rather he be caught up BEFORE he starts kindergarten. In other words, I think it's really important he go to preschool. So, we decided I would work part time, from home. Easier said than done. Knowing that it could take a while to find the job, and we could use the savings anyway, I've started my search. It's really difficult to weed through the scams. In addition to finding a "regular" work from home job using my skills, I'm trying to find other things to bring a little extra money in. So, I've signed up at a bunch of mystery shopper places, and I have signed up with a lot of survey things that pay money for opinions.

I am a trained and highly experienced assistant. I also have good knowledge of the Human Resources profession. If any of you know any good opportunities out there for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Other than that stuff, not much is going on. Joseph will have his first pediatrician's appointment next month that will not be through Kaiser. This should be interesting. I injured my neck a couple weeks ago and had to go to the doctor. The doctor was not pleased at how long it had been since my last physical. It was a good feeling knowing that they were into those preventative kinds of things. I mean I'm due for my gynocological check-up, and that's all that Kaiser was interested in. When I mentioned that to my new doctor, she said that no, she'd feel much better with a fill physical. Fine with me. So I have an appointment for all that stuff in September.

I lead a fairly boring normal life. I don't argue much with Jay, Joseph's too young for the angst parents usually have to put up with, and I don't have an outside job. I'm finding I don't have a whole lot to write about here.

0 comments so far

11:57 a.m.