September 5, 2001

9/5

Okay people... I know I'm not crazy. My mother-in-law has it in for me. I've passed the situation on to a couple of people, and their reaction was the same as mine. So, I know I'm not being overly sensitive. Here's what happened. My brother-in-law is getting married next week. He was already engaged for a year from now, but it turned into a shotgun wedding and was upped. So. We can't afford to go. I'm not sure I want to be there anyway - but that's another story. So. My MIL wrote me an email, telling me to be sure that Jay reads his email, because she wrote him a request, and needs a response (she knows I check my email more often than he does). I tell him, and since I'm already online, I just switch over to his. So, we're reading this email together. I was speechless. As a surprise, she's willing to pay for 1/2 of one plane ticket for Jay to surprise his brother. Sorry, can't afford Michele, I'm sure you understand. Please call her to give her a response. I think Jay was afraid to look at me. Here's how I feel about this. A husband and wife are a team. You don't invite one without the other, unless it's something like a poker party for "the guys". You DO NOT invite one 1/2 to the wedding and not the other 1/2. A family wedding. It's just rude. I should clarify. I'm invited. If I can come up with the money, and book my own flight. Yeah, right. And they know this. Not only that, they can afford it. After some discussion (and I'll admit, some ranting), we decided that Jay is going. No, he's not happy about the situation. Yes, he's upset with his mother. But we decided that this ticket thing, and his brother being married, are two completly seperate issues. Jay needs to be there for his brother, especially since his brother is sort of the pariah of the family - he needs someone there who is always there for him. So, we decided we should take advantage of the situation, and Jay should go. However, I added one caveat. Jay is taking Joseph, and I'm getting the weekend to myself. All by myself. The first in years. You see, Jay and I have never spent a weekend apart. Ever, since being married. So, I'm having a girlie weekend. In fact, the only two girlfriends I have down here have already made plans, minus men and children, together. I also, after a few days, decided that this doesn't deserve my energy. I didn't marry them. I married Jay. This doesn't deserve so much energy and "Woe is me". So, Ha! I'm going to have a weekend to myself!

In other news, Jay and I have a new hobby. It's called the Society for Creative Anachronism. Medieval re-creation. Basically, take the ren-faire, and Medieval Times, then take away the tourists, and too much alcohol, and there you have it. Jay will begin training to be a fighter soon, and I've joined the sewing circle. It's quite involved. Even the names we choose must be historically correct, and we have to be able to prove it, or we won't be allowed to use it. It's quite interesting, and something we can do as a family.

My job search is ging nowhere. I think it'll pick up once I can print and send my resume out, instead of depending soly (soley? neither looks right) on the internet. I have a lot of leads, and no power cable to my printer. Of course, I need a special cord, and had to order it through the manufacturer. I should receive it tomorrow.

Joseph had his well baby visit today. The doctor didn't seem concerned about his skin or his tantrums. He's growing well and all that good stuff. And I didn't feel like cattle (our first pediatrician appointment on this insurance). All in all, a great visit. Except that he got his next set of shots... Not too thrilled. He didn't seem to hold it against me that I had to hold him there. However, you should have seen the look he shot the nurse after it was all done. I think the lower lip came out, and the eyebrows went together, and he glared. It was great.

0 comments so far

11:58 a.m.