November 1, 2000

11/1

Well. I haven't been writing. Part of it is the fact that I'm a full time employee AND a mommy. But that's not all. I want to try and outline all that's been going on around here, so I can straighten out my head.

Jay and I are fine. The baby is great. He'll be 7 months in 11 days. His last check-up showed that he was 19 pounds! He's also 27 inches long. He's a big beautiful boy.

Our car broke down. This would not be a big problem for most people. We're not most people. We're currently living week to week. $1200 to fix our car is a really big deal, so we really had to hustle to raise the money. In the meantime (so far it's been over a week), we're walking/bus/lightrail to work. This adds 2 hours to our commute each day. This, again, wouldn't be a big deal. Except that Jay and I are on opposite schedules. He's nights, I'm days. I've been 45 minutes to 2 hours late to work everyday for over a week. Uggg. Thank God I have an understanding boss.

Another reason I hadn't been updating is the fact that I was helping to do a huge event at my work. This is not part of my usual job, so it was in addition to my regular work. Oh, my, gosh. I was exhausted every day coming home. I was working nights at home, and weekends as well. I don't think anyone knew I was doing that except for my boss. Doing this journal requires me to think. So - It wasn't happening. The event is over now, and the pressure is gone. Thank goodness.

Joseph is going to be dedicated at church this coming Sunday. Yay! PLEASE GOD, don't let him cry! Let him blow bubbles or something when he gets up to the podium with the pastor.

We went down south last weekend to visit my parents. For once, it was a great visit. My parents are SOOOOOOOOOOOO great with the baby! And I finally replaced my wedding ring (I lost it) from a jewelry wholesaler. Yay!!!! It's beautiful.

The big news is this. We're moving in with my in-laws. We move the 24th. I have very ambivalent feelings about the whole thing. The goal here is to pay off our debts, and then to save to move somewhere less expensive. The whole thing is causing a raukus. Mainly because I feel that my mother-in-law doesn't want us there. I've decided however, to let Jay field the family front. I'm along for the ride. I've done what I need to do. Created a plan and budget for our debts, I'm cleaning stuff out of our apartment, in preparation for the move. I'm trying to be very nice to my mother-in-law, even though I don't think she wants me around. I won't go into the details (because I'm exhausted by them), but suffice it to say there is a lot more drama then is necessary to do this. Jay says I'm a drama queen. He's right. I'll admit it. He also says I'm not causing any of this drama. He's right there too. I'm just trying to remain really relaxed throughout all of this. This to shall pass. Uggg.

If any of you have any advice, I'd really appreciate it. Have you ever lived with your in-laws?

I'd better get going... I really am going to try and keep this up. I have a feeling I'm going to need to keep on venting. A lot.

0 comments so far

11:19 a.m.