June 02, 2005

vents

Work has calmed down a little bit. Just a little though. We had two films scoring at the same time, not to mention that they were scoring here. Now I'm just waiting for all the bills to come in, so it's a lot calmer. My job definitely ebbs and flows. I'm still liking my job. However, in the budget meeting a couple of days ago - the big one - with the president of the division, I ended up getting so heated that I yelled in the meeting. This is very very unlike me in a professional setting. I'm nothing if not diplomatic. Plus I fully recognize the idea of burned bridges, and relying on people to get your work done, and having to work with people in future, and therefore am terribly good at the "let's work this out" and "I'm having a problem with" or "I'm not sure I'm understanding, explain it for me" school of thought. Instead, in this particular meeting, I was being jumped on and accused of stuff for not being in the budget. Excuse me? I don't actually decide what goes in there, all the other idiots (who were jumping on me) do. And so I rather loudly let them know that. In front of the president. Sigh. But it turns out in this case, I'm right. He decided that we're going to have a seperate meeting on Monday, just on that subject, and figure out the system once and for all. In addition, he was pissed himself. And told me after the meeting not to worry, it's not my fault, and I'm doing nothing wrong. Plus, he told my boss to give me a hug, because I was pissed. I felt vindicated, because, frankly, this president is both quick to praise if you do something right, and quick to criticize if you do something wrong. He's not shy, diplomatic, or anything. He says what he means, up front. So, I know I'm really not in trouble because he said so. I like that - knowing he means what he says. So, thank goodness, we're having a meeting on Monday to figure out this stupid stuff. I had try so hard not to cry in that meeting. Whenever I'm really upset, or really angry, the tears just come - which is really frustrating for me, since once they start I sound like an idiot. I just DID NOT want to be *that girl* in the meeting. Luckilly, I was able to control myself.

In other news, Jay took the kitties to the vet yesterday for their first shots and check up. Bandit had ear mites (on medication now), fleas (on medication now), and worms (got dewormed). The other kitty was fine. However, the other kitty (previously named Smokey, and then named Bear), well... he's a she. Now named Sassy. I call her SassyBear. Sigh. Can't get them fixed until their 6 months old. Oy.

0 comments so far

9:17 a.m.