October 08, 2003

movies and Mark Wahlberg's butt

We're in the hole financially speaking. But I've been doing money lessons on CNN's Money 101 site. Using their calculators and such. I have created a plan which, while keeping our luxuries, will get us completely out of debt in 14 months. It's a good plan. I feel more in control o fthings when I have a plan. And it's written down. I shared it with Jay, so that instead of just doing what I tell him to do, he understands most of what I'm trying to do. And I felt a lot better, because we able to meet our living expenses, have some luxuries, pay the minimum on our debt, and once Christmas is over, pay OVER the minimum on our debt. I went to the grocery store yesterday. I use coupons and my club card, which I need to do. It keeps the grocery bill within our budget while still doing things like buying a bouquet of flowers for the week. The family in front of me bought their groceries with food stamps. That was the "AhA" moment for me. I don't have to do that. I might be in debt, but I have a plan, I have the income to implement that plan, and we still have a little extra for misc. things like renting movies and having online access at home. We're doing okay.

By the way - my newest thing in cost cutting. NetFlix, in my oppinion is a very beautiful thing. Especially considering that in the month of September we paid over $100 to Blockbuster in both movie rentals and late fees. So I banned them in our house. Now we pay $20 per month, almost always have something new to watch for me during my crafting time (Christmas is coming - Must.Make.Ornaments...) or for a cheap date night in while the kids are asleep. And no late fees. And no more trying to make it there, and then forgetting - or the spousal switcharoo (stashing it in the spouse's car and then insisting that they were supposed to know about it and return it... Not finding it until you clean under the seats of the car - that bill? $60). I love this new gadget. Of course, I'm in charge of our movie queue, so now I have to make sure that each shipment is "his" choice then "her" choice. So it goes like this: Her choice: Season one of Friends, his choice: BLOW THEM TO SMITHEREENS!, her choice: The Hours, his choice: BLOW THEM TO SMITHEREENS! You get the idea.

Tonight's in-house date night "his choice"? The Italian Job. But I don't mind. In this instance, it's BLOW THEM TO SMITHEREENS! while watching Mr. Wahlberg's extremely scrumptious butt.

But we won't tell Jay that.

0 comments so far

10:25 a.m.