May 24, 2002

5/24

I am going to do a birth story soon... As soon as I get the energy.

Well, I'm tired. I'm really tired. Joseph's coming home on Sunday. I miss him. I do. I'm anxious though. How is he going to get along with Logan? Plus, my in-laws had him in a toddler bed, instead of his porta-crib. He's taken to it. Great. However, that means, not only am I going to have to deal with him getting used to his brother, but he gets to get out of bed whenever he wants to, and I have to go through putting him back in again. that should be interesting. They're bringing the bed back with them for us. But I guess if he regresses, he can go back into the crib, since Logan doesn't need it yet. I'm not happy that they took it upon themselves to do this though. You see, we already had this discussion when we agreed for him to go to their house. I felt he and I weren't ready for the change, when he was coming back to such a new change. But hey, I'm just the mother.

Although I'm tired to the point of being cross-eyed, I'm so glad I'm not pregnant anymore. I'm just not one of those beautiful glowing women. The bed seems so HUGE now!! And I can sleep in any position I want. Even my tummy if I'm careful of my boobs. And I can wear any shoes I want to!! Clothes are a problem. Maternity is too big, and my regular clothes are too small. I can do the dishes again without having to wait for Jay to get around to it. I couldn't do the dishes before, because I couldn't reach the spout unless I turned sideways and just used one hand. It's lovely to be able to do these things.

I thought at first I wasn't as sleep deprived as I was with Joseph. That is until I walked into the laundry room and realized I had never started the dryer. Twice. And I trip, and walk into things, and drop things. So, I guess the sleep deprivation is there. It's been so easy without having to deal with Joseph though, so I'm really kind of scared how it's going to be around here after throwing a 2 year old into the mix. The first few days should be easy. I'm sure he'll be at my parents house a lot. They're dying to get their hands back on their grandson. I just keep telling myself that most of the people in my family are closer together than 2 years, and they all survived.

Logan is doing better. He has a heart condition, aortic valve stinosis. This means that the aorta was too thick. It was too thick by 50%, but at his check up on Monday, it had gone down to 25%. This is a good thing. The valve itself is bicuspid. It usually has three petals that close together, but sometime in utero two of them fused together. This means that blood can back up through the valve into the ventricle. The good news is that the ventricle is nice and big. He will probably need surgery in the future, probably to replace the valve, but for now, they aren't suggesting any therapy. His cardiologist told us to treat him exactly as we would Joseph. And that he may not be able to play contact sports. But things like tennis, he can do. So, we're waiting and seeing. It's hard, because otherwise he's the picture of health. His apgars were 9/9. He's already gained more than 5 ounces since birth - he already lost and gained. Which means breastfeeding is actually working! Joseph couldn't breastfeed at all, so this is a very good thing.

Anyway, it seems that babies is all I have to talk about around here.

0 comments so far

1:08 p.m.