May 22, 2003

5/22

I actually paid the whole phone bill, but it hasn't gone through yet, so I don't know when this entry will actually get posted. But, since that's not the point for me, I'm writing in my journal anyway. I can't believe I didn't pay the phone bill.

I had my 6 week doctor's appointment today. I cannot believe it's been that long! Anyway, the pelvic exam was okay, although I have a cyst that should take care of itself. And we had the obligatory talk about birth control. I did have a little scare though. Since it was sort of an all over physical, she checked my breasts as well. I have fairly lumpy tissue, so to do an exam, you really have to concentrate. She found a lump. It could be an actual lump, or it could be part of my breast tissue, and just naturally lumpy. So, she said to make sure that I examine myself regularly, and if it gets any bigger, I have to go in. I have to admit that this makes me a tad nervous. But, I guess I'll just have to make sure I do my self-exams and keep on top of it.

It wouldn't surprise me if I did have a lump. Stuff just seems to happen to my body. Whether inflicted by someone, or not. For example, I had 3 head concussions before the age of 5. I always had respitory infections that sometimes made their way into pneumonia (sp?). I had Chicken Pox at the age of 14! It was right before junior high graduation... Boy was that fun. I had walking pneumonia my senior year. Actually broke my finger in P.E. When I went on birth control pills, we found out that my body couldn't take the hormone levels that the pills caused. I would have migraines from them that also consisted of numbness in my limbs, loss of peripheral vision, speech blockage and numbness of the gums and tongue, which would then lead into the headache of all time. The doctors were finally worried about me having a stroke, and they took me off the pill. I can't take them anymore, since I'm so sensitive to hormones. I even ended up with migraines during my pregnancy, just from the natural hormones the body produces. I found out that I have Osgood Schlaater's disease (sp?) in both knees my freshman year of high school. When I was 17 years old, I found out about my Uterine Didelphys. I had a miscarriage April of last year. I had all kinds of complications while pregnant with Joseph (thank God that they didn't end up effecting him). And now this whole lump thing. But like I said... Considering my history, I would'nt be surprised at all. It doesn't help that my family has just about everything in their medical history. Ah well... I guess I'll just have to take on day at a time.

0 comments so far

10:55 a.m.