October 28, 2003

fires

Okay, so things keep getting worse around here. My husband is still on strike. We're lucky though. My parents are certainly not going to throw us out, and they'll let us coast on rent, and they know we'll pay it back. But it's this ongoing yucky thing.

Jay will be leaving this weekend to go see his parents so he can take measurements for blueprints and plotting for his father's office. Yay. All alone with the kids with no help. This ought to be fun. But, his dad needs the plots and doesn't have time to do it, and Jay needs a final project for school.

I live in SoCal. So there's fire all around and it's awful. So far, it hasn't hit where it would get to us (the Angeles National Forest), so that's good, but the dingbats finally got it through their head to close the forest to the public. Can anyone say duh? They should have done that days ago, and their just lucky that no idiots decided to get their 15 minutes of fame by adding to this current disaster. While we're not (yet) effected by flames/evacuations, we're surrounded by trapped smoke. So, Joseph's going to the doctor today, due to coughing and wheezing. I've been coughing myself, but I'm getting over a cold, so I just think it's tickling my throat. However, there is one thing on this earth I'm allergic to. Sagebrush. I'm hardly ever effected by it. Only, say, going horseback riding on vacation, or weird instances like that. During which I take medication and I'm fine. But I'm having scratchy eyes, weepy eyes, and my sinuses are all plugged up and my head feels just huge. And then it dawned on me, sagebrush is what's burning on all those mountains. And I'm sure that the pollen is in the smoke that we're all inhaling. So, the logical explanation is that I'm having an allergic reaction.

The fire has effected me in another way. So many freeways have been diverted that my 45 minute commute was over 2 hours this morning. The entire time in which I had to pee. That sucks though, 'cause you know it's not supposed to be that way, and makes you very nervous and twitchy.

So many people have had their homes lost. So many have lost their lives.

Is anyone else waiting for armageddon?

0 comments so far

10:42 a.m.