May 29, 2003

show me the money

I am an Executive Assistant, to the President and CEO of the international company I work for. In December, the receptionist left. In her absence, the other assistant (to the VP) and I split up her duties. We then decided that we liked the way it worked, and figured we probably didn't need a receptionist. We went to our bosses who said let's give it a trial run. Then they said they like the set up too. And gave us a piddly raise. $2000 per year extra BEFORE taxes, to take on another job (that they were paying $27,000 per year plus benefits). But that's not the worst. This was supposed to be since April 1st, and we've yet to see a dime.

We're ticked.

We've been doing this for 6 months, and nothing to show for it except for more work.

We work for two of the major studios in Hollywood, our parent companies. In December, we may be moving onto the lot of one of them. There's a little bit of a lease discrepancy going on here, and we may decide not to renew, hence the possible move. If we do, it'll actually be closer to my house, and that'll give me a bit of a perk. Getting IN to work will be more of a pain, with the additional security we have at the studios in this day and age. But it will be a lot easier to get some of the things done that we need to do.

A little side note in the TMI category... Now that I'm healed from my surgery, and Jay is officially shooting blanks, he's turned into an absolute HORNDOG.

That is officially NOT a complaint!

0 comments so far

9:47 a.m.