May 13, 2006

to call or not to call

AOL News - NEW YORK (May 12) - A ban on cell phones in the nation's biggest school system is creating an uproar among parents and students alike, with teenagers smuggling their phones inside their lunches and under their clothes, and grown-ups insisting they need to stay in touch with their children in case of another crisis like Sept. 11.

Click here for the full article.

My thoughts? Should they be used in class? Absolutely not.

HOWEVER. (You know, there's always an "however" with me) I know that kids have been going to school without them, and the kids and parents made due. But the technology is here. It's not going away. Schools need to recognize that - embrace it somehow even.

Kids have more autonomy these days. Sometimes I think it's a good thing, sometimes a bad thing, but it's there. Parents need a way to get ahold of their kids. In this day and age, with the economy the way it is, many households can't afford for a parent to be home.

I'm one of them. My children are too young for cellphone - and to be home alone. But what about when they're too old for babysitters? I need to be able to get ahold of them. I need to check on them to make sure they are where they're supposed to be. I need to be available to them to talk when they need to talk, or if they run into some kind of jam in life.

One system that is not mentioned is since they're going to have metal detectors anyway... Have a check in system. That way the kids can have them before and after school.

I'm sorry, but I have to work. And in those hours before and after school that I may not be with them, I want to have open communication. It's as simple as that.

0 comments so far

5:51 p.m.

May 13, 2006

my husband is...

...very very sweet.

Because, heaven forbid, I get a gift on the day it was intended, I got my Mother's Day gift from Jay today via UPS delivery. I got a Pajama Gram!! How sweet is that? He informed me that he was going to get me the sexy stuff, and decided that would be more for him. So he got me comfies instead. I have a thing for jammies. I get home at night, and I instantly put my jammies on, and then proceed to cook dinner, do my chores, etc. I like comfy matching ones. I even work out in them. How sweet is he? I may have to get myself another one, delivered to him, if you know what I mean.

0 comments so far

11:32 a.m.

May 13, 2006

a message from God...

...on a Starbuck's cup.

We have a habit of getting Starbucks on the weekend mornings. Today, Jay came home with my cup, and he was a little stunned. He said, "Here's yours. Read the fricken cup."

The Way I See It #92

You are not an accident. Your parents may not have planned you, but God did. He wanted you alive and created you for a purpose. Focusing on yourself will never reveal your purpose. You were made by God and for God, and until you understand that, life will never make sense. Only in God do we discover our origin, our identity, our meaning, our purpose, our significance, and our destiny.

--Dr. Rick Warren
Author of The Purpose-Driven Life

Enough said.

0 comments so far

10:56 a.m.

May 12, 2006

spf...

1. Something you have 2 of.

Pardon the blurriness of Logan. But the boy rarely stops moving. These are my 2 boys, after just getting up in the morning.

2. Something you wish you had 2 more of.

I need 2 of me!!!! One to do the stuff at work, one to do the stuff at home. Please?

3. �Two�

Joseph and I now pray in the truck before school. Yes, we really are tapping into the Higher Power for his behavior issues. 'Cause I'm all out of ideas. It's starting to work.

And a bonus Logan shot, just 'cause I think it's cute...

5 comments so far

1:24 p.m.

May 12, 2006

slight rant...

If you call me about something for my boss, believe it or not I will take care of it. I will. You know I will. Please do not check up on it 4 times before lunch, and then when my answer is unsatisfactory walk into my boss' office. Because I will share with my boss. I will remember. Remember: I am the gatekeeper.

And you - the other one over there... Do not call me to take care of something, and then call the person I need to call to get it taken care of. Because then I can't take care of it - and well if you're calling them - WHY DID YOU GIVE ME THE EXTRA WORK IN THE FIRST PLACE?? Because yes. The only film I'm working on is yours. The other 53 sitting here are just paperweights for YOUR movie.

0 comments so far

12:15 p.m.

May 12, 2006

calls calls calls...

This sister business is interesting!

I have the power to make my sister cry. I did not know that. It was good crying. You see I let her know that my mom (our great-aunt biologically speaking) would like to talk to her. I think she's leary of mom because of the fact that she is still in contact with Jeannette. She asked why? I told her it was because they (mom and dad) wanted her. They didn't get to keep her because their dad came to get them, but they wanted her. She had to pull over (she was in the car). She just started crying! I was very much OH NO!! But she explained to me that other than her dad, no one ever wanted her (in her mind). Now she's finding this family that actually did want her, cared about her, and thought about her. She was overwhelmed in a good way. And yes, she wants to talk to my mom.

And in other news... We're tentatively planning her to come down here in October for a visit.

These are all such good things. The downside is, she has to call so late due to the fact that she's in night school, my bible study has gone down the tubes. I'll catch up this weekend, because I really need to get back in the Word, I can feel it.

She asked if she was calling too much (nearly every night). You see, she read that siblings typically talk once a week. But she decided that she can't get to know me in just once a week!

I know we're in the "honeymoon stage." But man it feels good. She's now calling me my sister in an identifying way. And Jay, her brother-in-law. That feels really really good.

And right.

0 comments so far

7:28 a.m.

May 11, 2006

team sports...

So this is just rude. All the other assistants in our little suite keep going to lunch together. Like once a week. Today, I walked in on their little planning session. Here's the thing... There are only 4 of us. Three of them go. Guess who's never invited? I feel like I've been picked last in kickball.

2 comments so far

11:50 a.m.

May 11, 2006

voting doesn't always work...

I have a confession to make. I watch American Idol. I no longer watch American Idol. They voted off Chris. I get to complain, because (shakes off the geek) we voted. Chris was a voice and style that you could turn on Star or Kroq and actually hear on the radio. His image is one that doesn't need a lot of polishing. He is who he is. I'm terribly dissappointed in the voters. My husband and I won't be watching anymore. America, you got it wrong. Actually, you got it so wrong, I'm waiting for a voting scandal that shows they were miscounted.

0 comments so far

6:25 a.m.

May 10, 2006

home again...

This is so weird. I'm all excited, because when my sister calls, it's usually on her break between classes at school at night. So I'm all excited because I have nothing I have to do except go home after work. Which means I might actually be home!

I'm not sitting around pining for her call, but Jay's gotten to talk to her a few times because I was at Bible study and the like after work. But I shall be home!

0 comments so far

2:42 p.m.

May 10, 2006

Butts...

Would you like to know the number one search that gets people to hit my site? "Mark Wahlberg's Butt" For heaven's sake - DAILY?? How many people could possibly be obsessed with his toochie?

0 comments so far

10:50 a.m.

May 10, 2006

happiness is...

I'm so happpy! I don't know why, but it could be

  • Finding Stacey
  • St. John's Wort I'm newly taking
  • Newly renewed relationship with God
  • Newly renewed Bible study
  • Joseph's suddenly "getting" some things at school

I just find myself smiling for no reason. It's such a calm good feeling.

0 comments so far

10:33 a.m.

May 09, 2006

my sister - lovely sound to it

I've been worrying about my sister and my relationship with her.

Mainly - my fear was that she would get all the information about her mother's side of the family (medical mental etc), and then just disappear.

I sent a letter to her (mailed yesterday) that tells her what I want. I'm simply better writing it down that actually getting words to spit out of my mouth coherently. I told her that I do want a relationship with her. I want to be sisters to the extent that we can after such a separation. With pictures.

I got an email from her last night. She hadn't received or even known about the letter. She thanked me for contacting her, because for the first time, as a parent, she has peace. She's not doomed to follow in Jeannette's footsteps because she actually loves her children. And she said that as far as now what? She said let's go with the flow and see what happens. So, since I had a fear of rejection (hmmmmmmm wonder where that came from) this is very assuring to me.

It was a really lovely email. From my sister. I just love saying that.

0 comments so far

2:50 p.m.

May 08, 2006

update

Okay, just got the update. She's going to have the fluid drained around her heart over night, and then go home tomorrow. More of this is in her future. Oy.

0 comments so far

12:31 p.m.

May 08, 2006

thinking...

I was just thinking... I wonder... Does she have a box in her house? With photos of us kids? Good Lord what I wouldn't give for that box.

0 comments so far

11:40 a.m.

May 08, 2006

hospitalization

So, mom just called me from Vegas. Jeannette is in the hospital. I'm not surprised. She put herself there. She needs a transplant, and is unwilling to do what she needs to do to get one (ie: quite smoking and drinking). She's made her choice to die instead.

Now that I've made the transition into knowing that I'll be finding my family without her anyway, I'm now surprisingly cold about her possible demise now. I'm surprised. I thought I'd feel more, even if it was negative. I will be going to her funeral if she has one, I've already made that decision.

Of course, this may not be her final stand - I may be jumping the gun here. but one can't help but think of it when someone's in as dire conditions as she is.

Stacey told me she wants to know nothing about Jeannette's now stuff. Past stuff, yes, as she's trying to understand what happened to her - and family medical stuff of course. Other than that, she doesn't want to know. She also doesn't want Jeannette to know anything about her or her children. I respect that. So she won't.

My family is fairly fucked up. Sometimes I don't know how to feel.

0 comments so far

10:54 a.m.