January 12, 2006

thievery

WHAT am I going to do with my son??

He got mad at me this morning 'cause I wouldn't let him wear his broken, wrong time, spiderman watch to school.

Then he was getting out of the truck at school with something he was hiding from me. The act of hiding it from me was preventing him from actually picking up his backpack. I asked him to show me what was in his hand. A nickel and penny stuck together he found in the seat. I made him give it to me because he obviously was just taking it, rather than asking. He broke into tears. I told him he could have it if he asked me for it, which he did. I know it was the wrong thing to do, I should have kept it, but he threw a tantrum, and I was afraid he'd take it out on the teacher again if I held firm.

Last night, we found a ring of my mother's in the kids' room, which he took from their house.

My son is a thief. What the hell am I going to do?

I've got the referral list of therapists from the school counselor, so today, I'm going to be matching up the therapists with my insurance and see if I get any hits. If not, I have another one that IS on my insurance which I'll try to make an appointment with.

This is not something I bargained for when deciding to have kids.

0 comments so far

9:12 a.m.