December 13, 2005

end or beginning?

Continued from 2 entries ago...

The rest was a blur. We wanted the big church wedding, but we were met with a shocking resistance by our friends. They said we hadn't known each other long enough, and therefore couldn't condone the marriage.

Ha!

What was curious though, was that both sets of parents were all for it. They must have seen it in us - that something that no one else saw.

In the end, the big church wedding was just too much with the budget my mom gave me and lack of willing participants. So, we eloped - with our parents. We each got to keep what we thought was important. For me, it was the formality. I wanted the dress, flowers, and the others to be dressed for the occasion it was. Jay's request was that his parents be there.

Almost 3 months to the day of our first date, we married in Lake Tahoe in a beautiful little chapel with candles. I had a beautiful, off the shoulder, ivory, pearl, and satin dress. A veil trimmed in pearls. A beatiful white & dark green bouquet that trailed little baby gardenias on ribbon. Jay was gorgeous in a tux with a stud collar instead of tie. His brother, best man, was in a regular tux, and Joelle, my maid of honor was in a nice dark green dress she picked so she would wear it again. Both moms got formal dark green dresses. Both dads bought dark green suits. I had bouquets made for all the ladies, and boutineers (sp?) made for all the men. It was just the 8 of us.

Unfortunately, all I remember about the ceremony was that the pastor had a really big head, and that when I looked at Jay, he looked as if he was more sure of this than anything in his life.

We had champagne & cake afterwards, and pictures.

Our pictures are both in the chapel, and outside in the garden, with the lake and snowcapepd mountains behind us.

We packed up, and Jay and I left to go back to San Jose for the night in our new apartment and then go to our honeymoon the next morning. Myles, Jay's brother, decided he was coming with us of all things. I wanted to be alone with my new husband. My husband and I had never been together before, so I wanted this time to be alone. Anyway, we dropped him off at his house and hightailed it home.

The rest, as they say, is history. We were told by everyone who knew us it wouldn't last. In April, it will have been 8 years. And we're happy. We seem to have lots of trials and tribulations, but we're solid, still in love. We did this for forever - we took the vows seriously. I love my husband, and he loves me. While our marriage came about in an unconventional way, I can't see what life would be without him.

0 comments so far

8:44 a.m.