December 11, 2005

will you marry me?

Continued from last entry...

I didn't know who the guy was, but that moment in time, that moment where we matched eyes, I just knew him in my heart way deep down. I've never experienced anything like that before. After that I glimpsed him every once in a while at church.

The quarter started for school. My first class, I was late, as I had trouble finding the class. I sat in the back. I saw a few rows up was that guy. I kept watching the back of his head. Then throughout the next couple weeks, I noticed he was in every single class of mine. What was interesting was none of those classes were supposed to be my classes. All my classes were either cancelled or full.

I started talking to the guy, Jay, in class about class things only. The first time we spoke in class though - he came in and put a 2 liter of Mountain Dew on the table in front of him, and I pulled out Sierra Mist. We both needed the caffeine due to our jobs. He winked at me. Then we started up small groups for discussions of the classes, and I finagled my way into his. That's when I learned his name. His dad was also in the classes with us, and in our small group.

One night, we had a break, and he went outside. I followed under the pretext of going to the bathroom. I can even tell you what I was wearing the memory is so clear. I went to the bathroom, and came out, and he was over on the balcony looking out. I went over there, and just stood. I didn't say anything. He asked me, "Water, forrest or mountain?" I said, "Huh?" Yes, quite the eloquent response. "If you could live anywhere, would it be the water, forrest, or mountains?" I said, "I don't know." "That's not an acceptable answer." So, I said, "If I could live with all three, that'd be best." The was the only conversation not about class we had.

He later told me about those days that there was another girl in class the first day he really had is eye on. Myseteriously though, she never came back to class. And then he started having his eye on my during our small groups. He honestly was attracted to my intelligence during class. I'm about as opposite of his "type" as can be. He like 'em hispanic/polynesian, long dark hair and petite. Ha! I'm taller than average, white as can be, with reddish, blondish, brownish hair. But he said he loved the way I thought, and the way I presented what was going on in my head. That night on the balcony, he'd gone outside in hopes I'd follow.

Superbowl Sunday. I went to morning services, and he was there. I sat two rows behind him in the balcony. He was sitting with his brother. I tried to say "Hi" after services, but I just couldn't. I hightailed it after. I found out during the day the college/singles group was putting together a paintball excursion. My living there put me in proximity of the set up person, so I began to hatch my plan of us being on the same team. As I think back - so high school.

It came time for evening services. I decided to go anyway, even though I'd been that morning, just so I could see if he was there. Not the best reason to go to church, but it's the truth. I was wearing what I had worn earlier, black skirt, tights, nice shoes, nice conservative flowered blouse. I walked into the sanctuary, and it was really empty - Superbowl. And there he was. By himself. I took a deep breath, and asked if I could sit next to him. "Not a problem." After, he asked if I wanted to have a cup of coffee or something. I let him know I couldn't, I was opening and running the coffee counter we had for the guy who normally does it. Did he want to come with me? As we were walking there, I ran into the only other guy who knew how to run the shop, and he was willing to do that. I handed over the key, and asked Jay if we could run back to the dorms so I could change. We did. I changed into my big jeans, sketchers, and sweatshirt, and he told me later, he knew then he could hang out with me... He was wearing the same thing. We left and went to a bus stop off of campus, since we both smoked, and that's prohibited on campus. We started talking. And talking and talking and talking. I think I went back to the dorm at 2am. We parted, and he said he'd bring his drawings and show them to me at the Monday night group (college/singles group).

The next day, I thought, after everything I'd been through, I was just imagining the attraction to each other - thinking it was just one sided.

I went to the group on Monday night. He was there, a little late, which made me nervous, but he was there, and asked me to sit with him. I did. He showed me his drawings and we went and got something to eat. That night, I think we talked until about 2am, again. We hugged when he left.

He came back the next night, just to see me - no pretext of anything else needed to do. He wanted to ask me something - I thought he was finally going to ask for my phone number. Nope, he wanted to know if I wanted to go to the Valentine's night dinner the church was having. I said yes, of course. Later that night, we were in his mom's car, just talking. We were quiet for a while and he asked, "What would you do if I kissed you?" "I suppose I'd have to kiss you back." "Good answer." And he kissed me. I think we talked until 3am that night.

The next night, we went back to "Our" bus stop. He seemed very nervous. So I thought maybe he was going to ask me to be his girlfriend. He wrote in the condensation on the bus stop window - I (heart) U. I told him I loved him too. As crazy as it was, after three days, I loved him with all my heart. The next words out of his mouth were, "Will you do me the honor of being my wife." There were some other things too, but that's what stuck. I sat there with my mouth hanging open, so he said, "Will you marry me?" I sort of jumped in his lap and started kissing him all over his face saying, "yes" over and over again. He counted. 16.

Then I calmed down. In light of the last time this happened to me, I asked him when? He said, "As soon as possible." That's when I knew for sure.

To be continued...

0 comments so far

11:34 a.m.