August 14, 2005

buttercup

There's a reason I don't write very much... Most of my life is the same, day in and day out. Day in, day out. There's not a whole lot to report of ruminate on.

Tonight I helped save a dog. Actually that makes it sound WAY too dramatic... I was on the computer and Jay was up for something, and I heard, "What the fuck!" The way his voice sounded made me get up and look. I just saw big dog butt go into the back yard/garage area. So I just went out started calling her, kissing sounds, patting my leg - Jay thought I had lost my mind. And he was right to think that, I mean this was a BIG BIG DOG. She reminded me of Winston, Jay's parents dog, who is a Chesapeake Bay Retreiver, but with longer hair. But it was something about her gait. Like she had arthritis. But she came to me, and I as she came out fo the fark, I saw her eyes. Dogs have such expressive eyes. No, she was just a big old dog - with a collar! Good job owners! So we found the number on the collar and Jay called, but it was busy. So he started knocking on doors - she wasn't dirty enough to have come far. She kept wanting to go away, but would let me pet her if I called her. Finally I just sat on the ground so she was taller than me, to see if she'd stay. So, what did she do? (By the way her collar said "Buttercup") She laid down (which took a while - did I mention old?) put her paw on my arm, and gave me her belly. So, I just rubbed her belly. Jay finally got through on the phone - he had no luck door to door, and lo and behold the owner just lived 3 doors down. While I was petting her, her mouth kept twitching. I thought maybe she was trying to bare her teeth at me - but no, when her owner came, she told us she has siezures (she's on seizure medication), and when it happens her mouth twitches. And she was 15 years old. The lady had to tell me to stop petting her since she wouldn't get up and go with her. She got up and just looked at me like, "Hey lady, I've got a sucker here who'll rub my belly forever, why are you making me go home?" Awwwww. But we officially did our good deed for the day :)

In other facets of our life, we've got an awful lot of struggles going on, but I have a headache and just don't wish to relive it all right now...

My in-laws came this weekend. Enough said.

I'm thinking I want to do a redesign, so if you come and it looks all different and stuff, you know why.

0 comments so far

9:35 p.m.