May 04, 2005

does this mean I get a chaise lounge?

Well, I'm doing something I never thought I would do. I am getting a housecleaning service...

One would think that with as small a house that we have, I'd be able to keep up. I can't. We do fine on picking up, laundry, dishes. But the CLEAN cleaning is a problem. We're always so busy, and when we're not actually booked, we're too tired. I get an hour of downtime a night before bed. Do you think I want to scrub a toilet at that time? No. And on weekends, family time, business work, paperwork, bills, etc. And again, no time to clean. So I bit the bullet. I'm not going to get better at this housekeeping thing - at least when I look back on the 7 years of marriage thus far. We're hiring someone. And it costs about as much as my nails do. So, if we get tight and don't have the money for it, my nails go away. I want the clean house bad. Mentally speaking, I berate myself constantly for not being a good housekeeper. Or, when I think there's something I want to do, I thin, "Well, I can't do THAT until I have a clean house." Why am I putting all this pressure on myself over dirt for goodness sake! So instead, I'm doing something about it. Except, I think, now I'll have guilt over the fact that I *can't* keep my family's home clean by myself and I should. I'm just going to have to get over it and enjoy my clean home. The other obstacle, of course, is the fact that my parents live next door, and have their ever-lovin' nose in our business constantly. This week, however, they won't be here when the lady comes, so I won't have a problem. But I think I'm going to have to have her come on Saturdays (when I'm there) instead of during the week, because I won't be able to run interference with my father who's liable to "keep and eye on them." Sigh. There are some definite drawbacks to this whole living close to your parents thing. "Everybody Loves Raymond" had it right. They were doing an epidsode on Ray and Debra figuring out where to move to. Ray drew a dot on his parent's home, and drew a circle around it. That was a no-zone, since they'd be able to drop by every day. The next circle was an okay zone, since it was more of a once a week trip. The next circle, however, was again a no-zone, because that was far enough for them to spend the night.

In another random factoid, my boss apparently thinks I sound like Snow White. She was getting ready for work in her bathroom, and on the news they were interviewing Disney characters, as their 50th anniversary is coming up. Then she heard them interview Snow White, and she came running out since she thought I was in the room.

My boss' boss, the big kahuna, thinks I should do voice overs.

Denise, a couple of bosses ago, thought I sounded like the airport lady (The white zone is for the immediate loading and unloading of passengers only...). I guess I have my "work phone" voice, my intercom voice, my losing my mind voice, etc.

So now, I think I'll be snow white, voicing over the airport lady message. That's my next career. Think there's any money in it?

Our business is moving along. Signed someone up as a member (think Costco membership) yesterday. It'll be great because she has to buy major bulk items every week, and has no time to shop. This way it'll come to her house. A business owner under us has some prospects that are interested. We have a big even in 2 weeks. Everything is moving right along. In fact, I think this month or next will put us at the next percentage bracket in commission. That's wonderful!

Joseph is almost all registered for kindergarten. I sent the notarized letter today saying that yes, we do indeed live here. His physical and shots are next week. Orientation is the week after that, and back to school night is the week after that. Of course, school doesn't start until Aug. 28th, but hey, all in the name of preparation.

0 comments so far

11:01 a.m.