May 03, 2005

alchera project

for the alchera project...

"...Most people have, at least in the back of their minds, an organization they would like to do something for. Some of us just never get around to it. This month I�d like you to pick an organization and write about why you chose it. You don�t have to get all deep and emotional if that's not your thing. Just be honest..."

In short, I would pick CityTeam Ministries. I have several reasons for this.

1. They are a Christian organization. I like that. They have a moral code. They have a strict list of rules that they adhere to in order to minister to the people that they do minister to. And, they're not overt about it. They are a registered 503(B) organization.

2. I've been there. CityTeam has various ministries in various states and internationally. There is a youth program. There is a homeless rescue mission (been there). There is a crises pregnancy home (been there). There is a recovery center (been there). Unfortunately, when I needed those services, I didn't know about CityTeam. But, I know what those people felt. Utter desolation, desperation, absence of hope, and a true, bonedeep knowledge that I wasn't worthy of anyone or anything. CityTeam takes these people up, gives them the basic necessities (showers, clean clothes, hot food, and a roof over their head). Then, they give them the tools to brighten and improve their lives, both spiritually and logistically. They introduce them to God, but they also help them with their recovery, find jobs, get education, learn how to take care of their kids etc.

3. I worked for them for nearly 4 years. I saw how they operated. And because I worked directly for the VP of HR (the only one with the authority to hire and fire), I saw what the organization felt was acceptable and not acceptable behavior. Every person who works there has to be a professed Christian who is active in their church (I'm the one who called the references to make sure). This is a non-profit organization, and these people worked for amazingly low wages, because they truly, deep down, knew and wanted to help people. The money was just a means to keep a roof over their own heads in order to help people. I was amazed by everyone's generosity of spirit, money, time, effort, and emotional dedication. And I was one of them. Do you know what it's like to teach a mother how to rock her child to sleep? The look on her face, when she opens herself up to be touched by her child? There were bad apples of course. I was amazed though at how God would make the events happen so that those bad apples always rose to the top so you could pluck them out.

This organization has helped countless people at a grassroots level find some kind of level footing in this earth. Young, old, homeless, addict, abused. Those people who honestly don't know where to turn are helped.

I felt good about being a part of it. You should too.

0 comments so far

9:43 a.m.