April 26, 2005

Misc.

So what's new with you?

As for us... Jay's been to the doctor. I won't go into too many details, but let's just say there's scar tissue from his vasectomy, and let's leave it at that. Don't yet know what to do about it, but we're working on that part.

I went to the dermatologist yesterday. There was a mole that changed, and Jay didn't like the look of it (it was on my back, I still haven't seen it). So I go in fully prepared for the doctor to say, "Oh that's not a problem." Instead he biopsied my back. Excuse me? Right there. What is it with me and these people. The last two times I've had trouble and thought I should see a doctor, they've gouged something out of me. First my wisdom tooth, as well as going further into the jaw due to a "shadow" on the Xray. Now this. The bad news? I don't find out if it's cancer for 2 weeks. My whole mother's side of the family has had skin cancer, so regardless of the results, the doctor said that I now have to have a full skin check every year.

Speaking of yearly exams, does anyone know the age you're supposed to start getting annual mammograms? 30? 35? 40? Guess I'll ask my gyn next time I have an appointment.

Job is going very well for me. I'm now reading scripts, and breaking them down to prep them for a music budget for the film. Very cool. And interesting. One, I'm a voracious reader, so this is no big deal. Two, I'm very visual, and have a photographic memory, so I have no trouble picturing the scenes in my head. This is more responsibility, and that's cool.

Jay now has a job title (his position was a new position). He is the West Coast Design Supervisor. And in addition to drawing stuff that has already been designed, he's designing new stuff. In fact, due to his designs, for a project, they were able to charge a $900 design fee. He was very excited about that.

Joseph is up north with Jay's parents for the week. He should have fun. I have my own issues with the whole thing. Basically, without going into the whole story, because I've already hashed it out too many times, from now on, they either have to take both kids, or make arrangements for two trips to keep it fair. Logan's too old now. They either make an effort to know both kids, or they can just visit at our house. Period. And luckilly, Jay agreed 100%.

I think that's all the news. A friend of mine is getting married at the end of the month. We're not able to go. I'm bummed about that. We just can't justify the costs. We'd have to stay with Jay's parents to cut on hotel costs, but we still wouldn't be able to afford the gas for a 12 hour drive roundtrip. I don't know. It just sucks.

Did something as parents last night we'd not done before. Changed the poopy diaper of a sleeping kid. He fell asleep during his movie last night. We went in when we heard the credits music, but we also smelled him. So we tag teamed him. He stayed asleep! It was quite fascinating to watch.

Jay and I are going to a (free) empoyee screening of The Ring Two here on the lot tomorrow night. We keep trying to do stuff like this but stuff keeps coming up. One time is was a screening of Ray and I had my jaw surgery. Then it was an audience thing for "Joey," and we both got terrible colds. This time I hope we can do it, 'cause the first one scared the beejesus out of us.

And that's the recap of the last couple of weeks. Carry on with your lives...

0 comments so far

9:02 a.m.