March 14, 2005

taxes, conferences and more

So Joseph kept all of us up all night long with a killer cough leading me to take him to my parents for the day instea of Alma's. I was going to get him a doctor's appointment... Until my mother called me and said he feels great, hasn't coughed once, and ate like a starving man. Hmph. While Jay and I are having a really realy bad Monday due to no sleep. I mean the boy sounded like a barking seal. It's the only way to describe it, and just sounded so painful. We had given him medicine before he went to bed, but Jay got him awake enough to take some more about 1am. He still coughed all through the rest of the night, but we were afraid to give him more. Maybe it's just when he lays down. But I told my parents to keep him there just in case. I don't want him running around like a banshee at Alma's, I think that would just aggravate it. We'll see how he does tonight.

As for me, I think I'm coming down with a cold. Terrible sore throat this morning, and post nasal drip, making me swallow, making the sore throat worse, ad nauseum. So, I'm drinking tea took DayQuil and have throat drops. We'll see if this thing takes hold.

Jay and I went to the leadership conference for our business on Saturday. Man oh man was that a long day... These things are usually a weekend long, and they crammed it into one day this time. Plus they're rolling out a new structure for doing things, so it was crammed with a lot of new information we need to know for the rollout, which means we had out thinking hats on. We went home just mentally and physically exhausted. However, that being said... We're really jazzed about the changed they're making. We were going to quit, because this would have been the second major function we missed due to finances. So we said, if we can pull it off, great, we throw ourselves at it for another 6 months. If not, then it's obviously not in our realm of finances right now. Well, the last week's pay before the conference, and we could make it. So, we're taking that as a sign and going for it.

My mom had our taxes done... They pay quarterly and have a tax attorney, so she just takes our info with her, and he charges a nominal fee for ours... However, this year was much more complicated. We had two small businesses (part time) plus regular work, plus unemployment, plus business expenses, plus Jay's last job was as an independent contractor so he didn't pay any taxes... My mom won't tell us what our refund it, since she wants us to be surprised, but the point is we owe NO money to the IRS, which is just such a huge relief. HUGE relief.

My oldest informed me that he wants a Chuck E. Cheese birthday.

Lord help me.

0 comments so far

10:13 a.m.