March 09, 2005

roundup

I have no idea what I'm going to write about - I just know I need and feel like writing. I'm so busy these days that I either can't take the time, or by the time I have time, I'm too exhausted to think of a thing to say.

Joseph will be starting Kindergarten in the fall. This is a very interesting thought. In a lot of ways he still acts like a toddler, so we're just not sure how he's going to do. I know he can count to at least ten. After that he mixes them up, and for some odd reason his favorite number is "68." He's always hated doing any sorts of arts & crafts, but he's starting to color a little bit more. His potty skills are there, he just hates to flush. One time the toilet started backing up when he flushed, and he panicked, and now he really really doesn't want to. We definitely have to remind him to wash his hands. Discipline wise he can be a real pickle. His vocabulary is off the charts, and always wants to know new words. Although I can't see how this will help him in school, he knows Mustangs, Fords, Jaguars (?), Chevys, Toyotas, and Volkswagons on sight. Can you tell at 4 1/2 he has a car fetish? But listening to a teacher? Doing what they're scheduled to do? Taking turns on things with the other kids? I just don't know about this.

There's another aspect to this kindergarten thing that's really getting to me. We are not part of the county's school district, we have our own for the little city. Therefore, there is a residency requirement in order to go to school here. My parents have lived here over 40 years. In fact, Joseph's new school is where I went to elementary school. We live next door to where I grew up. Here's the thing though. We don't have a "normal" rental arrangement. My parents own our home, we pay them rent. The utilities are all in their name. My mom pays them and I pay her back. We don't have a rental agreement, lease agreement, etc. Nothing's in our name attached to the house. I had to show them everything from credit cards, to IDs, to paystubs, to bank account statements. Now they're saying that's not enough. Now my mom has to write a letter saying that she's the owner, and we've lived there since what date (2001 for crying out loud), and have it notarized. I also had to sign a form saying I would allow them to investigate me to make sure I live in the district.

I mean come on.

My mom is a little pissed, considering she's been a member of this small community for almost 1/2 a century.

Then I have to get Joseph his physical and make sure his immunizations are up to date at the end of April. (miss work).

In May, Jay and I have to go to a parent's orientation (miss work).

In May - again - Jay and I have to take the kids to open house (miss work).

School then starts at the end of August. Before labor day. That just sucks. I mean, when I was a kid, labor day was the beacon - you knew you were going to school the next week, so it was the last summer harrah. Now school starts a 1/2 week before labor day, then you have labor day off, and go another 1/2 week. It makes no sense whatsoever.

Ugg.

So yeah - trying to lose weight. Quit Jenny Craig, we just can't afford it right now. Trying to do it on my own. We'll see how well that works.

I'm having my first birthday party. My 30th birthday is at the end of the month (the 29th) so I finally decided it was time for a birthday party. My mother kept asking me when I was a kid, and I always said no. I was a very shy child and didn't want all that attention on me. This year, though, I thought I really needed to get over it and celebrate it. My friend, Amy, is gracious enough to host. And I want a tiara. Is that too much to ask?

Work is good, busy, challenging, hard, etc. I like it a lot.

I've closed my secretarial business. I just don't have the time to devote to marketing and such. We're in the process of simplifying our life and that just made things more difficult (you should see our taxes this year). So I decided to close that, and concentrate on our Quixtar business instead. That way it's something that Jay and I are working together towards instead of just me. It builds us up relationship wise together, plus time together, etc.

I think that's the roundup.

0 comments so far

9:04 a.m.