February 04, 2005

ouchies

Well hmph.

I had to have surgery yesterday, very unexpected and very expensive.

For the last couple of days, I had a toothache in the back. The night before last I had to take vicodin to sleep because the toothache gave me such a bad earache. So, yesterday I called in sick and attempted to make a dentist appointment. Easier said than done, since I have new insurance. 6 dentists later (my old dentist doesn't take my insurance) I found one close by in Glendale, and I liked him! He took xrays and found a wisdom tooth pressing on the nerve of the tooth next to it, although the wisdom tooth was still dowm in my jaw and wasn't coming in. He wasn't sure it needed to come out, so he sent me on an emervgency referral basis to an oral surgeon a block away. I hadn't eaten earlier because I was too queasy, and my mom took me to the surgeon appointment since we didn't know what would happen. Well, the surgeon took new xrays, said it needed to come out. In addition, he found some shadowing there near the jaw, and so he wanted to go even deeper into the jaw to investigate. He also said it was an emergency and couldn't wait for 6 weeks for an insurance referral to come through, so he had his insurance person call them. He also decided I needed to go to sleep and have an operation and stitches and recovery etc. Thank God I hadn't eaten, and my mom was there.

So here I am at home. I owe my mom $600, and I'll lose 2 days pay at work, since I don't qualify for leave until I've been there 4 months. I'm on painkillers, soft diet, antibiotics. My stitches don't come out for a week. All because of a toothache.

The only good news, the shadow turned out to be nothing. But, the surgeon was right, better safe than sorry.

What a pain in the butt.

In addition, our superbowl plans are cancelled, and out date night tonight is cancelled.

It's always something around here.

0 comments so far

11:08 a.m.