January 25, 2005

yes, i'm here

I know I know I know... I haven't updated in a while. Truth? Terribly busy during the day, and terribly tired at night. We've started getting paychecks and so our financial situation is getting to be more palatable. This job is crazy busy which is a far cry from my previous position, and I was in that job for two years. This is taking a little getting used to. Plus, even though it's an executive secretary position, it still has some facets that are new to me. PO's and invoices, and prepping them, approving them, coding them, matching them... This is all new to me and seems to take a lot of my brain power. I'm loving the job though. And the studio company as a whole seems like a great place to work. My boss is cool, if a little temperemental at times. The only thing I don't particularly like is that fact that my little office is a thouroughfare (sp?) which I don't like, and it's far from my boss which makes some things a hassel. I think that's going to change though. I think we're going to be expanding into the office next door, which may mean my moving in next to my boss. I hope so. I'd like to be closer to her.

Unfortunately, I'm a little on the star struck side still. I've seen people from ER, and the Gilmore Girls, and I can't seem to get it in my head... I work on a studio lot, and so do they. Can we say duh? Now, I'm always professional, and leave them their space - this is their "office" after all. I've met a couple of interesting people in the course of my personal work. Bobby Columby, who is now a record producer and consultant. Snake of Skid Row fame (his handshake hurts). And several other consultants and composers that you would probably recognize on credits, although you wouldn't know their names here. It's cool, because I've had a bit of exposure to music on the playing side, and have a true love of music, to be surrounded by all kinds all day - very cool.

Now, I need to figure out how to be professional and still get an autograph from Danny Elfman. At some point here, I will probably be speaking with him, as he will be working on details with my boss. My husband is his biggest fan. If I don't ask for an autograph my husband will kill me. If I ask for a photograph, Danny might kill me - again that whole "working here" thing. I'll probably not say a thing, and also won't tell Jay a thing either. I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Anyway - we're all alive and kicking.

0 comments so far

9:06 a.m.