January 08, 2005

light at the end of the tunnel

I am not braindead today. Jay let me sleep in til 11am. This is highly unusual - usually once I get up to pee, that's it, I'm up for good. But this morning when I did it - there were no small radar ears, so everyone stayed asleep and I went back to bed. Amazing.

So, work. Work for the studio in general seems very cool. Generous holiday, vacation, and sick. Of course I can't take part in those until I've been there for 4 months, but oh well. Good benefits too. Lots of perks and discounts. I also get a few more perks since I'm actually on the lot rather than in a business building somewhere. I have a Starbu*ks, Jamb*juice, and Ben & Jerr*'s a short walk right on the lot from my office. Very cool. Not to mention that I've seen a few TV personalities at lunch. My job in particular is very cool. The first week (last week) was good. The first day I had a day's orientation which included a studio tour, in the rain, on a golf cart. Big time cold that. But I was glad for the tour because I have no sense of direction, and knew I was going to be working there - so I got the general layout. The rest of the week was on my actual job. The only drawback was that the temp was still there all week to train me, so I couldn't claim my space. Or my computer since he spent the whole time checking his email, shopping, or on the phone on personal calls. Not to mention flaming gay with all that entails - yes I'm sterotyping because he fits all the sterotyping on TV - think Jack from Will and Grace, and you'll see why I had a headache by the time I went home every night. And he decided not to clean out his personal effects until the last day, so I got to look at his boyfriend, Alfredo, every day. Anyway, the work itself is very challenging and I love my boss. It'll take a little time for me not to be intimidated by her boss, the president. He's has a very commanding presence and he's physically big as well. I tend to be shy in those situations so we'll see how it goes. I'm definitely looking forward to Monday, when it's just me.

And that's it!

However, I did do our money for the week (I do the bills and everything on a weekly basis since Jay and I both get paid every Friday). Get this. We're still in debt, but as far as bills go we're caught up. In addition, this week I paid some bills AHEAD of the due date! And last week, and this week, I was able to pay my mom for some things we owed her! Very cool. On our other debts I think I'm going to keep paying the minimum until I get my mom totally paid off, and then concentrate on paying other stuff totally off one by one. Once we get the debt paid off, and we are able to get on a savings plan for emergencies/vacations/Christmas, then we have some things we want to do around here. Like me going back on Jenny Craig or Weight Watchers, Jay going back to Tae Kwon Do, and getting cable/broadband and another computer. With the things that Jay and I are interested in, we just need to be online at the same time, and it's not cool that we can't. But that will all come in time when we can actually afford it realistically, without putting our future goals in jeopardy. So financially speaking things are really looking good.

It's been so long, that I'm really waiting for the other shoe to drop. It's going to take a long time I think. I think what will make me feel better is when we're able to have an emergency nest egg for small things like car repairs, and for big things like lay-offs. Having homelessness in my background, I really need to feel financially secure or I have panic attacks and such. And it's been a long time since we've been financially secure. A couple of years. And I don't mean for the fun stuff. I mean like gas in the car. So, this is going to take a while for me to get used to it. I actually don't get my first paycheck until next week, but I did get my last unemployment check this week, so it was like I got paid. This is actually how it's supposed to be every week.

Thank God.

0 comments so far

5:52 p.m.