January 07, 2005

a review in meme

I started my new job. I love it. I'm too exhausted by my first week, however, to go into detail yet. So, here's my contribution to the New Year's meme that's been going around.

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Got laid off.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don't even remember making any, and I'm not going to make any this year either. I'm terrible at keeping them, and I already know my general goals in life. And when I don't keep them, I feel like an utter failure.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes. My friend Shannon - and I was there.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

A family member did pass away, my great-great-uncle. We was 96. He wrote to us and I to him, but the latter years did a lot to his thoughts, so we were no longer close.

5. What countries did you visit?

Countries? As in traveling? You're kidding, right?

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

A better handle on the financial situation. A better handle on health, nutrition, and personal wellness. A closer relationship with God.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I honestly can't think of one particular date.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Surviving.

9. What was your biggest failure?

The only thing I can think of that was a failure on my part and not a matter of circumstances was my quitting Weight Watchers after my hormone debacle. The hormones caused me to gain all my weight to come back, although I didn't know that's what it was at the time. So I quit thinking it wasn't working. Now, I'll need to try it again.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Ha. Ha ha. Yeah. This year I found out I have tendonities up one side of my wrist with arthritis down the other. I had severe bronchiolitis (as opposed to bronchitis). I had a stress fracture in my ankle and had to wear this weird air brace in my shoe. And then I ended up with a severe hormone imbalance which caused severe PMS all month long (I turned into a year-yound bitch in a heartbeat, and we couldn't figure out what was wrong with me) as well as hemmoraghing during my monthlies, and having 2 week long monthlies. We corrected that problem with hormones in the form of a NuvaRing, but the dose was too low, and three different kinds of birth control pills as different dosages, with the concerns that my neurological migraines would come back with that therapy. They did, about 1 to 2 a week. Since they cause me to not be able to speak, read, drive, and sometimes see or chew (they're neurological and cause malfunction in my motor skills) I knew I couldn't go into a new job with that kind of regularity of them. So I quit them myself. The other possible therapy was hysterectomy (with hormones for the rest of my life - bad for migraines, or at least a double D & C (because of the two uteruses). However, I'm willing to risk it for now and see what happens. With the pills I was unable to function consistently which is unacceptable to me. I asked Jay if that was okay, since I might very well go hell-bitch on him again. He said he's not worried about that, but if I start hemmoraghing again, then we'll need to do something about it. Then of course there was Jay's whole brain variance thing, the tests that went with that, and his resulting reaction to the medication that put him out of commission for a few weeks. It hasn't been a great year healthwise.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Jay's robe for Christmas from the kids. He's been in it every night since then. And every morning. He loves snuggling in that thing.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

I don't see much of that.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

The extreme democrats.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Survival.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

My new job.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

That damn polaroid picture song.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

It was a terrible year. But this time last year Jay was on strike. That year was terrible too. Just don't know. This year will be better.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Having patience with my kids. Taken more pictures of the kids. Everyone's right. You doooo take less pictures after the second one's around.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Getting worried over things I have no control of and not giving it up to God.

20. How will you spend Christmas? Null and void.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?

No more than I already was in love with my husband. And we're still together after the last wretched two years. Our 7th anniversary is this April. And I'm still in love.

23. How many one-night stands?

Do husband quickies count?

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Actually, with the advent of NetFlix, I've really discovered many. Of course they're all off the air now, but still.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

No.

26. What was the best book you read?

I read way too much to say.

27. What were your greatest musical discoveries? I don't have time for that! I guess you could say though that I actually took the time to buy CD's that I had in the past and loved and lost them. They're comforting to listen to.

28. What did you want and get?

My new job. A George Foreman Grill - the big one - to replace my last dead one.

29. What did you want and not get?

Lost weight. A massage.

30. What was your favorite film of this year? Oh good Lord. Look people, the last two movies I went to were rated G for Joseph. Ha!

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 29. I cannot remember doing anything at all - this year has been such a blur. Good God that means I'm 30 in March of this year.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Less debt. Less job stress for both Jay and I. The car not dying. All this stuff really adds up over time.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

Is it clean? Does it matter?

34. What kept you sane?

Absolutely nothing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I just drool over many.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

The fact that as a republican, even with a republican president, my views are deemed politically incorrect by the masses, and therefore "wrong." This causes me to not stand up and say what I think because I'm afraid of rejection, and that's just plain stupid on my part. It makes me just avoid political discussion at all, except for making my vote heard in the voting booth, because inevetably (how do you spell that?) others aren't interested in actually hearing your point of view - they just wait until you take a breath and then immediately tell you why you're wrong, as opposed to sharing their ideas. It all just makes me so uncomfortable.

37. Who did you miss?

Friends. No money and two kids makes visiting difficult.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Didn't meet many people.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:

This too shall pass.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

"It's the end of the world as we know it..."

0 comments so far

10:37 p.m.