December 28, 2004

a new head of hair

I got a new haircut. The jury's out for now on this one, but all that damn hair is gone, which is a very good thing. I have very fine, curly hair, but there's a hell of a lot of it. My new job starts on Monday - so I got my haircut and new clothes. I'll also do my nails, and give myself a facial, shave, etc. Just makes you feel all new, you know?

I wanted to do one of those month by month year in review things, but I don't want to do that. In short for 2004: Jay was on strike for almost 8 months. Jay graduated. Jay got new job for what turned out to be an asshole. Jay quit. Jay got new job with great company. Jay had major health issues including a "brain variance" which was very scary and included CAT scans and lumbar punctures (spinal tap). He also threw out his back, knee, and had the stomach flu for Christmas. Joseph, it turns out, was not in the cantankerous toddler years. He's just plain onnery as his personality. Joseph made strides in his absolute refulsal to do anything creative like coloring and actually participated. He's still a loner, but growing and halthy. Logan has officially moved into the terrible twos - with a vengeance. He is, however, growing well, and no longer in the negative percentile in anything. This pleases his doctor to no end. He doesn't need to see his cardiologist for six months. He is also a budding artist, and has completely confounded his babysitter when he did their holiday project better than any of the older kids - including kids in the 6th grade compared to his 2 1/2 years. As for me... I gained and lost weight. Had some major hormonal issues that had to be treated by, well, hormones. Lost my job. Took care of all of the above.

I am so glad that it's all over.

For the next year I have some goals. These are not resolutions, as many will take all year to get started on etc.

1. Logan gets pottytrained.
2. Quit smoking.
3. Excerize.
4. Eat healthier.
5. Manage the money, and make a dent in our debt.

That's it.

Found some memes I thought would be fun to do.

Three names you go by:
Michele. That's it. Others have nicknames for me, they just usually have nothing to do with my name. Just don't call me Shelley.

Three screennames you have:
sparksfley, thewilcoxway, sparksfley9

Three things you like about yourself:
I'm very tenacious and can usually find a solution no matter the problem. I'm smart. I'm a good listener.

Three things you hate/dislike about yourself:
My weight. My self-conciousness (sp?). My lack of patience with my children.

Three parts of your heritage:
Irish. French. American Indian.

Three things that scare you:
Change. Heights. Losing my husband (to death, not divorce).

Three of your everyday essentials:
Caffeine. Nictotine (see above for those goals). Quiet time of some sort, which is usually had in the wee hours of morning, or late hours of night.

Three things you are wearing right now:

Tae Kwon Do referee shirt. Jammy bottoms. Slippers.

Three of your favorite bands/artists at the moment:

Can't name that. Isn't that pathetic?

Three of your favorite songs at present:

See the above question.

Three things you want to try in the next 12 months:

To have a more organized household. To learn my new job. To have more patience with my children.

Three things you want in a relationship (love is a given):

Lots of humor. Understanding. Peace.

Two truths and a lie:

I love movies. I'm addicted to the computer. I'm not addicted to anything.

Three physical things about the opposite (or same) that appeals to you:

I don't get it.

Three things you just can't do:

Drive a stick shift. Cook meat on top of the stove. Save money (YOU try live with Jay!)

Three of your favorite hobbies:
Movies. Books. Needlework.

Three things you want to do really badly right now:
Sleep. Sleep. Sleep.

Three careers you're considering:
If I could, I would be a stay at home mom. That's it.

Three places you want to go on vacation:
Scotland. Ireland. England.

Three kids names:
Joseph. Logan. Hope & Faith (our angel babies in heaven).

Three things you want to do before you die:
Travel with Jay. Become a black belt in Tae Kwon Do. See my great-grandbabies.

Three people who have to take this quiz now or die a slow painful death:
I won't wish that on anyone ;)

And another meme...

According to the BBC, there are 50 things to eat before you die. Bolded are the ones I haven't had.

1. Fresh fish
2. Lobster
3. Steak
4. Thai food
5. Chinese food
6. Ice cream
7. Pizza
8. Crab
9. Curry
10. Prawns
11. Moreton Bay Bugs
12. Clam chowder
13. Barbecues
14. Pancakes
15. Pasta
16. Mussels
17. Cheesecake
18. Lamb
19. Cream tea
20. Alligator
21. Oysters
22. Kangaroo

23. Chocolate
24. Sandwiches
25. Greek food
26. Burgers
27. Mexican food
28. Squid
29. American diner breakfast
30. Salmon
31. Venison
32. Guinea pig (the fuh again?)

33. Shark
34. Sushi
35. Paella
36. Barramundi
37. Reindeer

38. Kebab
39. Scallops
40. Australian meat pie
41. Mango
42. Durian fruit

43. Octopus
44. Ribs
45. Roast beef
46. Tapas
47. Jerk chicken/pork
48. Haggis

49. Caviar
50. Cornish Pastry

0 comments so far

1:30 p.m.