December 18, 2004

kung fu fighting.

I haven't been able to do an entry for a couple of days since I've been so busy. I had a transcription contract, so I've been feverishly working on that since that means extra money!

So that job I wanted? Good Lord. Got a call a couple of days ago, as they couldn't get references from my last job since the office closed, and my job from ten years ago said that I didn't exist. Well, my last job was easy enough. I was able to get the company who did our payroll to verify me. As for the company from ten years ago... The idiots didn't use my maiden name - which was on my paperwork - or my Social - which was on my paperwork. So, yeah, under my current name, I didn't exist. Got that all figured out yesterday, but it was too late to get an answer. I now have to wait until Monday to find out if an offer is ready for me. Ugh. The whole weekend. And next week is Christmas week, so I wouldn't be all that surprised if it was pushed to the next week. Oh wait! That's New Years - how about the week after that?. Ugh.

Got my best friend, Amy's, Christmas party to attend this evening sans children! We're going a little bit early in order to help. Jay will get drunk, as usual at their house. Dana, Amy's husband, and Jay have some sort of off competition thing that happens, that Jay doesn't participate in with anyone else. I don't get it. Maybe 'cause I'm not a guy? Anyway, there's a weird/strange/bizarre white elephant gift exchange. We got a dancing hamster. He's wearing martial arts pajamas and holding numchucks. Press his paw, and the song, "Kung Foo Fighting" (think chipmunk voices) comes on and the hamster dances and spins his numchucks. It was that or the life-sized Paris Hilton cut-out, but that was over the max for the gift. But it would have been perfect.

Christmas is coming, and I've got nothing. I'm doing the bills today, so I'm hoping that there will be extra for Christmas shopping. There very well might not be though. We'll see.

****

Update: Just did the bills for the week. This was the week I'd figure out if we had any money left for Christmas, since Jay won't be paid again in time. Nope. Nothing. Jay will have something under the tree, 'cause I had already gotten him two gifts, and the grandparents are coming through for the kids. But that's it. After three years in a row of this shit, I'm officially done with Christmas. To put it bluntly, we don't even have enough money for gas in order to go out to our church for Christmas eve... We have just enough for the basic necessities. Food. Gas for Jay to get to work. Diapers. Merry Christmas. right.

0 comments so far

1103399295