December 14, 2004

Christmas meaning

However, since then Christmas has grown into a huge holiday, celebrated by millions of people who would proudly denounce any faith in Christ. In your life, has Christmas been more about the gifts? Has it been more about your family? How much of it have you spent actually celebrating what Christmas was truly meant to be? Analyze these thoughts and define for your readers what Christmas is to you.

In my life Christmas has mean different things at different times.

When I was little it meant my family had parties (this is a big deal, my parents are big time loners). They would want to see friends, go to parties, and they were generally happy. This was unusual. Of course there was also the magic of Santa Claus and presents. I also knew from the onset of that Christmas was celebrating, the birth of Christ. I was the proud Sheep Number 3 in the 2nd grade pageant.

When I was a smidge older, we had a cabin in Big Bear, and we celebrated Christmas there, until they sold the place when I was 14 - without consulting me, thankyouverymuch. There was always snow, and being raised in Southern California this was a very special thing. We went to midnight candlelight services in a beautiful little church up there every year. Added to the magic that was my Christmas.

As I've gotten older, I've noticed that my love for the season as definitely wanned. I supposed because I wanted to continue the magic, but nobody seemed to be coming with me.

Now, I want to create the magic for my kids. My oldest is 4 1/2 and finally REALLY getting old enough to be into it. He remembered things from last year like Hot Wheels in his "socks" and making cookies for Santa. So, I find that I'm getting back into the spirit of things for their sakes. My mom got a manger scene for Joseph that when you press the button tells of Jesus' birth. Logan, the youngest, is fascinated by the baby Jesus in my nativity scene. I want to start a tradition of going to Christmas eve services, although I'm not sure the kids are up to it yet at their age - bedtimes and all.

I've explained that we give presents because it's Jesus' birthday, and He's up in Heaven with God, so we give the presents to each other instead. I know Joseph doesn't get it yet, but I'm hoping as the years go by my lessons will stick in there somewhere.

So what does Christmas mean to me NOW? I think making sure to be with my little family and simply making memories that will make my kids feel happy and warm when they think about it in the future, and hopefully do those same things for their children.

Otherwise, I fear it will lose its meaning for them and that would break my heart.

this has been an Alchera Project

0 comments so far

12:17 p.m.