December 02, 2004

bah humbug

It's December. What used to be my favorite time of year. I can't seem to get into the spirit. Partly because we weren't supposed to be here, we were supposed to go up north. But that's not possible right now, and we just made the final decision yesterday. So now I've got to decorate and all that. But we have no money for any gifts (we're relying on grandparents for the kids), and I'm just so not in the mood. Sigh. I've even been watching the corniness that is the tree lighting at Rockerfeller Center, and that whole Nick and Jessica Family Christmas thing in an effort to get in the mood. I've got little kids! I've got to get myself together! Who wants a scrooge for a mommy this time of year?

Jay is in Georgia still, training for his new job, and loving every minute of it. This is really exciting for him. He comes home on Saturday.

The job hunt isn't going too well. I'm still going to interviews, but I've had no offers. And my severence has run out. I have no idea if I'm going to be able to send the kids to the babysitter next week in order to go on interviews, because the money won't be there. Jay doesn't get his first paycheck until next Thursday (maybe even the next week). Sigh.

I really need to get myself out of this funk. The kids deserve a mom who bakes cookies for Santa, and at this point I just want to shove them down his jolly throat.

0 comments so far

10:32 a.m.