November 20, 2004

date night

Jay got a webcam as a gift. You can now see my mug:

So Jay got that dream job he wanted! This is a very good thing - both monetarilly and for his self image. He flies out to Georgia (try saying Alpharetta, Georgia ten times fast) the week after Thanksgiving. Get this - paid training for a week, first class, limo, suite... When he starts his actual job the next week, his own office, with a window. He'll be in charge of the computer graphics for the West Coast for his company. It's only a dollar more an hour than the other job, but for a reputable company with a national presence, holidays, sick, vacation, and benefits. Plus we won't have to worry about his taxes since he's a real employee. This will be good for him.

I, however, am still unemployed. And not happy about it. But, at least I qualify for unemployment, so that's something. So far, I'm done with interviews until after Thanksgiving, unless someone calls me next week. I doubt they will though. The whole hiring thing seems to be slowing down for the holidays, which of course is not good for me. I had a couple of good prospects, but so far they've said no. I've got one really good one, but they were supposed to call me on Friday, and didn't. And didn't return my call - which just doesn't sound good to me, but I'll just have to be patient until Monday. Sigh. I really do not like job searching.

The businesses are moving right along. We've not been able to concentrate on either one as much, but as soon as everything goes back to normal - or at least to some kind of routine, we'll be able to get back to building them up.

I have to admit, I'm jealous. I'm jealous of Jay. And I feel awful about it. I've been out of work for two weeks, and have actually been interviewing for the last 4 weeks, and nothing. He goes on one interview, and they tell him right there if he passes drug & background, he's in. I'm jealous and feel like a heel for feeling that way. But, I also am trying my darndest not to show him, because it's been 6 months since I've seen him smile (ever since he started working for that jerk) this much. I'm NOT going to rain on his parade. He deserves this. But I can't help feeling disgruntled.

We had a date night tonight. It's been a long time, and we know it will be even longer. So, here was the plan. Seeing National Treasure, then dinner at Benihana. No big deal. Huh. So, the kids slept late for their nap, so we got them to my parents late, which means I was late getting ready. When I tried to order the movie tickets online, the site had an error and I couldn't. Get to the movie theater - and Jay was grumpy 'cause we were late - and it was sold out. Okay, we're not going to let this ruin our night. Since it was in a big mall, we wander around, since we never get a chance to just browse without a goal. Got some fresh music, a gift for the white elephant party we have coming up, etc. Tried calling the restaurant to bump up the reservation, and they said no - too busy. Okay fine. Wandered some more, and decided, since it was chilly, to go and have a drink in their bar. We did, and we people watched, and went to the table, and it was good food. Of course, the cook at our table was a hispanic man named "Chavo", but it was still good. Sat with three other couples. We chatted with the couple next to us. The couple across from us was so so so pimp daddy/trophy wife. I shouldn't say that, since they really were into each other and paying attention to each other, and giggling together. But just pucture this - Man: white, nice slacks, mustard colored expensive silk shirt, and expensive wool coat over it, shaved bald, goatee, bling on right hand, chunky gold bracelet on one arm, gold watch on other arm. His wife(? - she had a ring, he didn't):gorgeous exotic thin black woman, impeccably groomed, model material - seriously think Tyra Banks, expensive jeans, cute Manolo Blanik type shoes, leopard print bra, white bustiere, and short fur bolero. Very interesting to watch. So we eat, and it was VERY good. We go to leave. While we were in the restaurant it started to rain. I don't mean rain, I mean torrential downpour. The outside of the restaurant was flooded - no more sidewalk. We parked in the valet parking and had to wait - in the rain - for the valets who didn't see us. We hear the nice couple from our table talking, and they had parked across the street, and couldn't make it over there. When I say flooded, I meant, no sidwalk, and it would have gone to the woman's crotch if they tried to cross. So we put the car seats in trunk and drove them over there - good deed number one. Jay accidentally gave the valet the $20 in his pocket instead of the $1 dollar bills he had in his other pocket - good deed number two. Then we had to drive in that home. It was an interesting date. Even though everything seemed to go wrong, we had a good time together, which is what counts. And the food was good - that can always redeem anything :)

I've blathered on long enough.

0 comments so far

11:29 p.m.