November 09, 2004

unemployed

Okay. Here I am still alive and kicking. The change in the picture, however, is that my husband and I (and I guess by default our two kids) are unemployed. Oh boy.

First, Jay's job. His boss was an asshole (pardon the language). He called Jay a "Stupid mother fucker" in front of the other employees - over a subjective aesthetic matter, not over a structural absolute. After a while, he just couldn't take it. When the boss wanted him to come in on his day that he's supposed to work at home - and the boss know's he didn't have childcare on that day, and had both kids. The boss said, "I don't care, figure it out." So Jay quit. The good news it, he almost has a new job. He's applied. He's interviewed twice. He's filled out the required paperwork. He's done the pee test. We're now awaiting the results of the pee test and background check. If those go through clear, then he will go to Georgia for a week paid training next week. If I get a job, I don't know how we'll work it out, but we will. But this is a REAL job. An hour more an hour, as a real employee, so we don't need to wrory about taxes, and benefits, sick leave, and vacation. And a regular paycheck with a real company, not a personal check, when the guy feels like coming in, even if it's the next week. We've got our fingers crossed for it - Jay is really excited. If they don't offer it to him, then he'll go balls-to-the-wall to find anything else, such as stocking at Office Depot. But, we'll see.

My last day at my job was Friday. And I still haven't gotten a check. I'm not pleased about that. As for me, I might be getting a job offer this afternoon. Maybe. I've done two interviews, and tested, and then when I was waiting for today (they have one more internal interviewee they have to see), they emailed me ANOTHER test yesterday - this time it was a personality test. What is with the testing these days? Can you tell me this? And my credit it absolutely none of your business. In addition, everytime you run my credit, you worsen my score. In addition, employees tend to be the opposite they are in their personal life. Oh yeah, and my husband was on strike for 8 months. If you want to see if I'm a criminal, I totally understand. You won't find a criminal history in my credit report, however, and it's none of your business. I can't tell you how that irks me. As if money problems make me a worthy person or not. Really pisses me off. Anyway, I'll hear about that job this afternoon one way or another. I have an interview tomorrow. I've been intervieweing every day for about the last 3 weeks. I'm getting really really tired of that new suit bought for the occasion.

Anyway - things aren't great, but there really seems to be some good things on the horizon. But you know you can never really reach the horizon, so we'll see how it all works out.

Sorry, my inner pessimist just reared her ugly head.

0 comments so far

7:55 a.m.