February 25, 2004

Homework & Religion

Jay and I really want to see The Passion of the Christ. I've heard a number of things about it. But mostly, I've heard that if you have any faith in Christ at all, this raises it a hundred fold. So, I want to see it. As for those who say it smacks of anti-semitism, well - if it's true to the biblical account, then the Jewish people killed Jesus. That's the historical account. I don't understand why that would be anti-semite? And I haven't understood that argument. I mean, the truth is, true Christians hold a very dear place in our hearts for the jews, because in the Old Testament, God calls the jews his chosen people. He fights for them, and wants them to survive. But history is history. And please don't write to me saying that the Bible isn't history. The truth is, Jesus' existence, and the facts behind his death, have been proven by outside sources, regardless of how you feel about him being the Son of God or not. At the very least, He was a man here on earth, who died here on earth, and that is a fact.

Wow - I guess the subject riles more in me than I thought.

In additional religious news - didn't mean to, it was just on the radio - THIS really bothers me. Because frankly folks, a theology degree is an actual acredited bachelor's - one in which I was studying - that is offered at many secular schools. I realize he was planning to be a minister, but what he does with his degree is his business. When it's an actual degree from a qualifying school, it's absolutely ridiculous not give him the scholarship based upon his chosen profession. Yeah their taxpayer funds. But who says I want my funds going toward someone who receives a ceramics scholarship? I hate it when "they" speak for me as a taxpayer.

Random yay for me - I tested yesterday, and am now an orange belt - in addition to breaking another board.

HomeWork: Week 5

Tell the story of the biggest "train-wreck"-caliber mess you've ever witnessed.

I have a few good stories of my own, but truly, it has to have been my best friend's house. This was in high school. Her mother wasn't the cleanest person in the world, and that seemed to have translated down to the kids. I spent the night, which was no big deal. The next morning, I went into the bathroom to take a shower. I literally wore my shoes in the shower. The tub, floor of the tub, and floor of the bathroom were THAT bad. And I am by no means a clean freak, so this meant it was just wrong bad.

0 comments so far

9:58 a.m.