January 15, 2004

ready to cut loose

Uncle Rex's funeral is today. I had to be at work today (it's the last day before my boss goes on an around the world business trip). Joseph and Logan can't go to the babysitter's because they BOTH have pink eye. So, Jay's going to take Logan when he gets home from school, and then my parents are going to take Joseph with them to the funeral, which has my other uncle all in a dither. "Well, what are you going to do if he acts up!?" To which my mother replied, "Clyde, I'm going to sit in the back with him, and if he acts up, we'll just go outside and play". I mean, I'm sorry, but we're in a bind. He can't be around other children until next week (Logan being case-in-point). I've got to work. Jay's got to sleep (during Logan's nap) after working all night and then going straight to school, since he's got work and school tonight. I mean, I'm sorry, but that's the way it is. When it's someone's time to go, they don't wait until it's convenient for everyone, they go when God calls them. So, of course it's inconvenient! You just have to deal in situations like this... So the viewing was last night, the funeral is today, and the burial is tomorrow.

Jay's gone 2 days in a row to work. He's the boss, so it's been very interesting - as these people are used to working without any supervision... So, Jay's kicking their butts, since it's fairly obvious about the lack of leadership. So far, it's been okay. I'm alone at night again - but to be honest with you, it's having a good effect on the house. There's no one to mess it up. And I can get it cleaned up without having to work around someone. But the nights are lonely, and it's just me. Jay seems to be in better spirits, and while I haven't asked him about that part, I think it's probably because he is supporting his family again - we haven't even seen a paycheck and the change in him is discernable.

I'm not going to TKD tonight (Jay is) so I can give my parents a break in watching the kids. Then I'm staying home from work tomorrow, so my parents can go to the burial, and lunch with the family, without the kids in tow, and Jay can sleep. Then they're watching them so that Jay and I can spend the night at Dave & Shannon's, which was planned a very long time ago, well before Uncle Rex passed away and the kids got pink eye. This week was definitely polanned differently.

Anyway, so tomorrow night is Dave's 30th birthday party. His wife is hiriing a limo to take a bunch of us around to someplace, the location is a surprise. Leaving at 7pm and coming back at 3am. So - we were told to bring our ID's, and clothes to spend the night, or else have a sober driver ready to pick you up at 3am. Well, we're spending the night. Because, even if I did stay sober, I'm not about to pick up the kids that late.

A night, together, where BOTH of us can drink (one of us always has to be sober to drive/take care of the kids when we got out, you know, once in a millenia), with friends, who all have kids, who will have escaped for a night, and can really have a good time, in a limo, no one has to drive, and there's no "pick up the kids" time - not to mention the possibility of "vacation sex". I'm very excited. Not to mention I've lost weight since a lot of these people have seen me, which means I get to wear my cute jeans, and not feel self-concious. I feel sorry for Shannon though. She already knows that there's a real possibility of everyone getting smashed except for her (her baby is due in April) - but that's actually probably a good thing, as SOMEONE should have some semblance of sanity. I have no idea where we were going, although at some point there was mention of Santa Barbara. Who knows.

I'm so excited. I'm so done with "mommy" and sick kids. I mean come on! In the last month I've dealt with death, stomach flu, regular flu, and pink eye. In the last 3 months, we're talking strikes, no money, broken down cars, the holidays, my mom was in the hospital, Jay injured his hip and then his foot, so more doctor bills. The list goes on. All without a date night, 'cause there's no money to go to eat, or to the movies.

I'm so ready to cut loose. I've already planned on packing aspirin and a bottle of water in my bag for before I go to sleep.

0 comments so far

9:26 a.m.