January 06, 2004

a new year? Ha!

A new year.

Dear God, make it a better one.

I went through and archived my 2003 entries, and when I did, I realized that I have been doing this for about 4 years. Of course, that would be all kinds of different incarnations, and it actually goes back quite further, but I lost those files. Wow. That long of a presence on the web, and I have all of 3 people on my notify list.

Which tells me I'm not too terribly fascinating.

Ah well.

Let's see... My in-laws came to do a late Christmas with the kids last weekend. Oh joy. Was insulted by my mother-in-law. Lost our health insurance. Logan will no longer receive his special vaccine. Jay's picketing pay has decreased to $100 per week. BTW - for those of you all who even bother with saying it's better than nothing... It's working full time to pay our gas money. Uh huh. It's so not worth it. But there is nothing out there job wise. NOTHING. He's got to finish school, and there is just no night crew work. OK, so maybe this year isn't starting out so hot either.

I started myself on eDiets. It's cheaper than Weight Watchers in the long run, and I was getting a little bored after a year on it. So, we'll see if I can lose the final 20 pounds this year. So far it's 76 pounds in 19 months. 20 is all I have left. In fact, things were so stressful, and busy, that I just didn't give me weight a second thought for the last 2 months. I didn't go to meetings, and I didn't weigh in, and I didn't even bother with thought about my food. And I lost 4 pounds. Which just goes to show you how stressed out I am, since I was NOT eating healthfully. And I want to change that. So, we'll see how I do on this program. If nothing else, it's something new to learn. And I've started working out more. In addition to the TKD. I don't want to be huffing and puffing and have no stamina in my classes, and I guess I need conditioning.

This is also the year I'm going to quit smoking. I don't know when or how. I'm still considering the how. I've tried before and failed. So I've been thinking about how I can best succeed at this. And only a smoker and former junkie/addict would know what I'm talking about. It was a crutch when I quit drugs, and I haven't been able to get rid of it. My Gosh. It's been 6 years, no speed. Anyway, I'd like to get off the nicotine.

I've given up bothering with the caffeine, but I have cut down.

All of this is supposed to make me feel better in a life that isn't looking so good right now.

Any bets on whether or not it will work?

0 comments so far

3:02 p.m.