December 08, 2003

it will never end

Things are not looking up around here. Talks for the strike just ended, with no progress, and no plans for new talks. Great. Jay's looking for another job. But he probably won't find one until mid-January, maybe. People have other stuff going on and don't usually hire during the holiday season. But it has to be a night job for him, because of school. We're in the weird sort of limbo. He needs a job. His job, on the strike line, is hovering. So, he wants to find another job, but it would only probably be for the next 3 months since he graduates and plans on finding a new job in his new field then. It's all so discombobulating. I love that word. Anyway, we're (stuff like that is always a group effort for us) looking for a job for him now. Ug.

We got a tree last night. There is a Christian youth missions group that sells them every year to fund their projects. We got a 7 footer there for $30, which is a good price for a full 7 feet. And it is probably the most beautiful tree I've ever had, to be honest with you. No bare spots, very full bottom. With all the lights on it, it's just gorgeous. I can't believe I'm saying this... When we can afford it, I'm interested in buying an artificial tree. There. I've said it. There are needles ALL OVER my frickin' house. And there was some sort of wasp in the tree, which Jay found when he was setting it up, and it stung him. he found it on the floor under the tree, and ran to pick it up with kleenex to take it outside, 'cause the babies were right there, and it stung him through the kleenex. His thumb is a little swollen at the moment, and he said it hurts like crazy. This wouldn't happen with an artificial tree. And don't get me started on the lights. But there's just something about going to the tree lot, and it's cold, and the smells, and the lights, and picking it out. That look of joy on Joseph's face when we told him that huge thing was OUR tree was simply priceless. And the way it makes our house smell. I'm not sure the tradeoff off having to vacuum more vs. all of that is worth it. I guess it's all a package.

At this point Jay and I aren't having a Christmas. I had bought the makings for gifts for everyone else a long time ago, but I just don't think I'll be able to complete them in time, so they are just going to not get gifts if I don't. I'm hoping that my boss will give me the same gift he gave me last year. $200. (He's got a lot of money and he's very kind and generous). It's terribly greedy for me to hope that he will do the same thing this year. If he does, Jay and I will be able to give to each other. But I won't know until our party on the Friday before Christmas.

Everything is so up in the air right now. One of our best friends who works with Jay crossed the line and went back to work. I don't know if we will continue to be friends. When people cross the lines, it makes it a longer process for the people striking. And you would think that it wouldn't be personal - but after 9 weeks of being spit on, alcohol thrown on you, and obscenities yelled in your face (every single night mind you), 4 911 calls, etc. later, it gets personal. I don't know that they will get past this. I hope so. But you know what they say about politics and religion. Don't talk about it if you want to stay friends. Well this is definitely a political thing in their world.

God I hate this. I truly do. And I am helpless to do anything but watch. All I can do is continue to work, bring in that paycheck, and let Jay I'm totally behind his positions and decisions. And I'm doing all that. But he's almost a broken man. It's so difficult to watch.

0 comments so far

10:23 a.m.