October 31, 2003

struck & ff

My Friday Five is at the bottom of my entry.

Okay, so, could the strike end please?

Another bill day, and no money to pay them.

Anytime... Really guys.

And just to be sure you know the truth, the union has been waiting to negotiate for the last week and a half. The stores are saying no dice. In other words, pay the $98 a week (yes, that's week), with no overtime pay, for health care, and like it. With the other cuts, in paid time and such, it'll cost us $800 a month. That's how much less we'll be paid. That's unacceptable, when you consider my husband's a journeyman. And also when you consider the cuts in pension, retirement, and no raises for 5 years, it's going to cost us even more.

He'd leave, but where else can he find a full-time job and still go to school? He can't. There aren't many graveyard shifts out there, except at grocery chains.

This just sucks.

And Jay estimates at least another 2 weeks. He doesn't feel the groceries will feel a big enough crunch to negotiate until people start shopping for Thanksgiving.

Please don't cross our lines. And if you have questions or comments, email me, and I'll be happy to explain what in (and not in) the contract under dispute. Even if your opinion isn't the same as my opinion - I don't care, as long as it's based on the truth. If it's based on the actual facts and truth, all opinions are valid.

1. What was your first Halloween costume?

I honestly can't remember, but it would be safe to say some kind of princess/ballet dancer.

2. What was your best costume and why?

My belly dancer costume. First time I ever looked "hot" in public. I was 16.

3. Did you ever play a trick on someone who didn't give you a treat?

No. Never liked that part of the whole deal.

4. Do you have any Halloween traditions? (ie: Family pumpkin carving, special dinner before trick or treating, etc.)

We no longer celebrate Halloween. We have some debates going as to whether to allow our kids (it's not an issue yet) to dress up/participate at school. If you wish to know my reasons, please email me. Some of them I simply don't want published publicly.

5. Share your favorite scary story...real or legend!

Well, this is real, and not all that scary (although it was to me at the time). My grandmother lived next door to us for the last 8 years or so of her life. She died, in her own bed, at the age of 90. Creepy side note: we now live in her house, and my bedroom is the one she died in. Our beds are even in the same place. Anyway, right after she died, I had a homework assignment where I had to look up definitions and where the word came from and such for a vocabulary list. I had my hand on the dictionary, and I changed my mind and decided not to do the assignment. My grandmother's picture fell of the bookcase above me and hit me in the head.

I did the assignment.

0 comments so far

9:45 a.m.