October 21, 2003

pinheads



which groupmember are you?

Still striking. In-laws are coming this weekend. Which means I'm cleaning house like a maniac. First tae kwon-do session in over two weeeks is coming (due to injury and illness). It's going to seriously kick my ass.

This is what is going on in my life. We're stressed out, we're tired, we're poor.

This strike thing is getting out of hand. Don't get me wrong, I completely support my husband, and I agree with and support the strike. What I don't agree with is the fact that no new negotiations are taking place. And I completely disagree with the companies taking full page ads out in the times, twice, in the last week. But what really has me worried is the increasing violence. My family is probably seeing it more because Jay does his picket shift in the middle of the night, coming home between 2am & 5am. Anyway, two picketers have been hit by semis because they have scabs driving them, who cross the line with the trucks, and don't care who they hit. At our store we've got angry "civilians", people from the public who 1. Aren't supermarket employees and 2. Aren't union members wandering our parking lot where my husband is picketing with basball bats threatening them. The security guard literally turns around and looks the other way. He's the STORE'S guard. We've got people stopping at the light by them yelling at them, throwing ice, beer, and other unmentionables at the picketers. Not a random toss, gets nowhere near them, in just some vague insult. I mean beaning people in the head on purpose. One member of the esteemed public shoved one of our female picketers down to the ground when she told him off for pouring his beer on her on purpose. This is really not good. And it's escalating. This is the second day in a row that I have had to convince my husband that taking his knives, bb gun, and basball bat with him to work is a Very Bad Idea. Because what would happen is this: Public person touches/shoves/threatens a picketer. Jay shows weapon. Public person files charges. Jay goes to jail. This is not what Michele needs.

But my real question is: What are these people thinking? Either you support the union members picketing, and therefore go to another store, and perhaps honk to show your support as you pass them. Or you don't support them, and therefore cross the line and shop. What you DON'T need to do is put act like an ass, because you think it makes you big, bad and tough, and put MY HUSBAND in bodilly danger you pinhead.

OK. I'm done venting. Thank you.

0 comments so far

10:09 a.m.