September 23, 2003

waiting for the sky to fall

There are so many balls in the air, and we have so many things hanging over our heads.

Jay's union may strike. Which means, if they do, that he won't be working or getting paid for the duration.

Jay finishes school in 4 months. Which means he will be getting another job, in a new career, for less money than he's making now. In the long run, this is a good thing. The the short term, it's going to suck. Because the pay will be less, but the child care will go up (full day), and the student loans will come due in 6 months.

In addition to that, I might be laid off. Our company might be bought out, which means the L.A. office would be moving to Europe. Which means, I'm outta here. I don't think my boss (the Pres.) is willing to relocate to Europe, so perhaps I'll move the wherever he moves to? That or I'm out of a job.

In addition the THAT, our lease has come up for this office space, and our real estate department in New York isn't sure whether they're going to sign for another year, or move us to the studio (which will be a moot point if the buy-out goes through).

Joseph really needs to go to pre-school. I think he's ready both in age and mental capacity. But we don't know what's going to happen with Jay's work/location. We're not sure what's going to happen with my work/location. And I don't want to pull him out of school to go to another school, so I think we're going to wait and see what happens on all these fronts before we make a decision about his schooling.

We were going to have him go to school a block from Alma, which would be perfect. But that district closed the permits that said the child could go there if the care-provider was in the area.

I just don't know what we're going to do.

0 comments so far

10:41 a.m.