September 19, 2003

just call me yellow

Drumroll please...

Michele (and Jay) is a yellow belt!! I did it! I actually did it! I'm so proud of myself. I was so nervous I almost threw up yesterday when I thought about the test coming up. But I did it! I stuttered a bit during the question/answer part of it, but I always stutter when I'm very agitated. I had the right answers though. And I was the only one that Master Shinn didn't correct during my poomse (20 position routine). AND we got patches that we have to sew on to our do boks (uniform). Everyone got one for whatever they did best out of everyone testing. Jay got "Best Form", one little boy got "Best Split", one boy got "Most Improved", and I got "Best Kicking". I'm very very proud of myself.

Going to lunch with Amy today.

1. Who is your favorite singer/musician? Why?

I don't have a favorite. I have eclectic musical tastes, and I simply can't narrow it down. I like everything from Enya to Emminem.

2. What one singer/musician can you not stand? Why?

Again I can't narrow it down. And the truth is, I probably wouldn't be able to tell you who they actually are. I just know that there are songs that I will change the radio stations on if the song comes on. Perhaps it's a song despisement instead of the artist?

3. If your favorite singer wasn't in the music business, do you think you would still like him/her as a person?

Gosh - I wouldn't know how to answer this. I think that the truth is, how could I know? I know nothing about these people's true personality. I simply know their work-product. When I'm at work, I'm a totally different person than at home. I go into what Jay calls my "work mode". So I would have to assume that, at least partially, artists of any genre are that way.

4. Have you been to any concerts? If yes, who put on the best show?

I've been to a few, although most of them are my parents' favored artists and I just tagged along. Thinking back to the shows I've seen, I really remember 2. One was my very first concert of "my" music. Depeche Mode - Violator - Dodger Stadium - 8th grade. The other one was a Neil Diamond concert - needless to say I was with my mom, but the point is, he really put on a good show. Another memorable one - Michael Bolton (again with my mother). It's memorable, because Celine Dion opened for him, before she was big, and sang with Peabo Bryson. I can say I saw her "when".

5. What are your thoughts on downloading free music online vs. purchasing albums? Do you feel the RIAA is right in its pursuit to stop people from dowloading free music?

I think that it is the way of the future. I personally feel that people don't want to spend $20 for a CD that they only truly like 2 songs of. They want their music piecemeal. I think that if the music industry could play into what the public wants, instead of punishing them for it, than everyone would be a lot happier.

0 comments so far

10:40 a.m.