September 16, 2003

belts and haircuts

A few little things going on... We're testing for our next belt this coming Thursday. I'm scared. We're testing for the master. Very scary to me. He's never in class, so we've got to be good. We're going to a Taekwondo tournament in place of Jay's party - Amy is going to babysit for us.

I'm back on FlyLady. I got in a kick this weekend and deep cleaned the whole house. So I thought it would be the perfect time to implement a system that I know - and that I know works for me. 2 days, and I've still got a clean house. This isn't such a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but I must say that when my outsides are in good order, my insides are in good order.

Joseph has been "helping" me lately. This is a good thing. But he's really got an attitude about anything, so whenever he does something positive, like helping me, or sharing with his brother, I really try to make a big deal out of it. Don't know if it's working though.

I'm avoiding talking about the negatives lately... 9/11, Johnny Cash, and John Ritter are all giving me thoughts about war and terrorism, disease, death, and the impridictability of life, and the sheer tenuousness of it all. Frankly, day-to-day is such a struggle, and those thoughts tend to put me in a deep depression (along the lines of why bother?) so I've been barely touching the surface of them with my brain.

In lighter news, I chopped off my hair. Very short. I'm still getting used to it. But since no one at work has mentioned it at all (and we're not talking a trim, we're talking drastic, you can't miss it), I'm assuming all hate it. Oh well. It's hair. It'll grow back.

Speaking of hair cuts, Logan got his first unofficial hair cut. I haven't taken him yet, because I can't see him sitting for someone to cut his hair. But it kept getting in his eyes. My mom took matters into her own hands and cut it out of his eyes. She did a splendid job, looks very nice. But she is so cute. She put the hair in a baggie with a note that she did it and the date for my baby book. How sweet is that?

0 comments so far

10:03 a.m.