August 07, 2003

ouch

I am so incredibly sore from the class I had on Tuesday. How in heck am I going to move at tonight's class? My parents agreed to watch the kids for our class whenever their home. This will save us money, which is a good thing. I don't know what we'll do when their travelling, but we'll work it out. I'm nervous about tonight. I'm not quite certain of some of the transitions. In other words I know how to stand at attention, ready, and fighter's stance. But I'm not certain how exactly to move from each into the next. I think I'm going to ask for another demonstration tonight. The Korean commands are killing me. I'm really terrible at other languages (you should have seen my grades in high school spanish), so the commands literally all sound exactly the same to me. So I think that's just going to be something I absorb over time. I'm excited about all of this, but at the same time I have trepidation. It's fairly rare that I try something, and then don't excel at it. I usually so very well in everything that I do, because once I make the decision (and that takes a while) to take something on, I go full bore. It's difficult NOT to excel at something if you're giving it your all, even if you're not talented at it. That "A" for effort goes a long way. But this is something that I'm not sure I can excel at, even with me putting all my effort into it. But I made a commitment, that I would do my best for this 7 week trial run. At that time I will make a decision to go on and try and test for my yellow belt, or I will quit, knowing that it's not for me, but that I honestly tried. Jay and I made that agreement.

I cut my nails off, so that I won't injur anyone or the equipment in class. It is SO very weird to type. It feels very strange. But I'm not giving up my manicures. They just won't be acrylics is all.

I think Jay is even more sore than me (that's horrible grammar). We took turns with massages yesterday. At least I work out, so my body is used to some movement. Jay doesn't. But over time that'll fade.

I hope.

0 comments so far

10:45 a.m.