July 12, 2003

singin' the wedding blues

Amy's wedding is killing me. At least the hard part is over. I did her California shower. Her dad's side of the family lives in Washington, so her best friend and maid of honor (who lives there) gave her a shower for that side of the family and friends, especially since most couldn't afford the trip to the wedding. That was nice. But I did the California one. I hate stuff like this. One, I had to bone up on the "how-to" of a wedding shower. I had never been to one,and no one gave me one. Two, I hate social occasions like this. Especially when I'm the focus of attention. I gave the shower so I had to MC, and conduct the games, and award prizes, and embarrass Amy, and do all that stuff. I'm a great hostess, but I hate it hate it hate it. Give me a couple close friends, steaks, beer, a pool, and a dartboard or poker, and THAT'S my kind of comfortable social bonding. But I'm great at the social thing when I have to be. In this case I had to be. And let me just say that my four flower arrangements were THE hit of the party, and they all thought I had the flowers "done". He.

But from now on, I'm more of a participant. The week after next, there's the bachelorette party, which the other bridemaid is doing. It's going to be at "Howl at the Moon", a dueling piano bar at Universal City Walk. Then the rehearsal, dinner, wedding itself, which entails professional makeup and hair. Which I love. I just can't "fancy up" my hair. It's curly. My hair is defintely like Shirley Temple's, and always has been. I also have another dress fitting.

In the midst of all this chaos, I have to go to Disneyland, and take yet another day off of work. My boss is fine with it though. Almost Jay's entire family up north, on his father's side, is coming here to do the tourist thing with their kids. most of them have never met Logan, and Jay's Lesbian Aunt that no one talks about will be there. She happens to be Jay's favorite aunt, and I've never met her, so he really wants me to meet her. I hate Disneyland. I really do. But I can't just tell Jay no, that's not right. It's his family we're talking about. But the good news here is... Drumroll please... Jay's parents are taking the kids for two weeks. Yaaaaa hoo! A freakin' break! AND I don't have to worry about babysitters for the bachlorette party, rehersal, dinner, hair/makeup, nails, wedding, and receptions. That's a lovely thing.

I'm going to miss them and I worry that Logan is too young, but I really feel that them taking the kids every summer is good when they want to have a close relationship, but don't live close. They took Joseph last summer too, when Logan was born.

We're hurting bad on money, worse than before. A series of things out of our control - mostly car issues - but we'll claw our way out eventually.

I've lost more weight!! Lost almost 17 pounds, total now. Technically I way less now than when I got pregnant with Joseph. Woohoo! I think I have like 27 more to go before I reach goal. But it's working!

0 comments so far

9:15 p.m.