May 30, 2003

friday five

friday five

1. What do you most want to be remembered for?

I suppose I want myself to be remembered as being a port in the storm. Have a problem, go see Michele. I want my children to remember this most especially. It's so important to have someone in your life like that, and I want to be remembered as such.

2. What quotation best fits your outlook on life?

FlyLady says "housework done incorrectly still blesses my family." I've been repeating this like a mantra no matter what it is I'm doing. Whether it's housework, work work, hobbies whatever. I'm such a perfectionist that I either get sidetracked by something else, or I get totally engrossed in the details, and then nothing gets done. If I repeat this mantra to myself, then I simply get it done. No it's not perfect. But I'm finally realizing that it doesn't have to be.

3. What single achievement are you most proud of in the past year?

My son Logan.

4. What about the past ten years?

Getting married, and staying that way. So many relationships, married or not, fall by the wayside these days. So many divorces. I'm proud of my marriage. We work hard at keeping it good. We work hard at working out our problems. We love each other, and wish to keep it that way. We both feel that love is many times a choice that we make. We choose to love each other, and therefore do the work to keep that going.

5. If you were asked to give a child a single piece of advice to guide them through life, what would you say?

Find your spiritual core. Find that, and hold onto it. It will get you through the hard times, and you will celebrate the good times. It will give you a moral compass in order to know right from wrong. It will give you the knowledge of how to deal with and treat people. It will give you the core to allow your family to survive and thrive. It will give you the tools to deal with tragedy and destruction.

0 comments so far

10:11 a.m.