May 27, 2003

money money money

We had a plan for our tax return. At first, it was to pay off debt. After further consideration, it was decided that it would go to debt to my mom, a new computer, and co-pay on my surgery. Well, I paid my mom off of what we owed here, all except my car. That was like $12,000, and they told me not to worry about making payments on that until we had the rest of our finances square. We're getting there, slowly. So - my mom tells me that we're going to be doing something interesting. If I give her money every month - whatever we decide we can afford, she will put it in a savings account, one that Jay and I cannot touch. It is to be only used for a down payment on a house. If we do that, she'll wipe the slate clean on the car loan. If we decide not to use the money for that, the car loan comes due. Pretty good deal if you ask me. I think I have figured out a budget, so we'll see what happens.

0 comments so far

10:12 a.m.