April 30, 2003

red tape

I hate government bullcrap. I really do. My driver's liscense expired on my birthday last month. Dutifully, I went and renewed, took my hideous picture, and went home to await my newly minted liscense, deeming me legal to drive. Well, I got a letter in the mail saying that they wouldn't issue it until my name matched the name on my social security card. Excuse me? When I got married, I got a new liscensee in my married name, and you didn't balk then. I've been doing taxes every year under my married name (even though my ssn is under my maiden name), and they pay the checks out to me, in my married name. This is really annoying to me. For two reasons. One, I'm still me. And my maiden name is legal to use. Any combination thereof is legal to use. Two, it's discrimination. Only women (okay so 99.8%) change their name after marriage. What if I WANT to keep my maiden name on my card? What the hell is wrong with that? Now, I have to go to the nearest office, with my birth certificate, my name change certificate (I changed my name legally when I turned 18), my marriage certificate, my expired driver's liscense, and my social security card. Good God, they took my thumbprint! You would think they could look in their little computer and say "Yup! That's her!"... This is so annoying.

0 comments so far

1:46 p.m.