January 23, 2003

a lighter me

It's been forever since I've written, and I've been trying to figure out what the hindrance is. It might actually be the process of html. So, maybe I'll try to write each entry every day, in plain text, and then post the entries in batches when I have time. Hopefully that will help.

Updates around my family... My mom recently got out of the hospital. Pneumonia. Feeling better, still weak though. Jay is going to have to have dental surgery. Not fun - for anyone ;) Slowly but surely Joseph is being potty trained. Logan is getting more and more personality. He's still a very sweet, sweet natured boy - but there's a little bit of mischieviousness coming out now. Very cute. Joseph got into his first fight, which landed him in time-out at his babysitter's. His vocabulary is amazing. It's also amazing how many different ways he can tell us off at 2 1/2. Jay's still in school, but he's asked for a transfer to another store to work in. He really isn't getting on with his boss, and it's no longer just a personality issue. So, he's waiting for the transfer to go through. We're getting a handle on our debt.

In other news, Jay will be getting a vasectomy as soon as our insurance referral goes through. He wants more kids, and I don't. But since I can't use any form of birth control except for condoms, he's decided that sterilization is the answer. But he wants the kind that can be reversed, just in case. Plus, he doesn't want me to do it, because I've already had so many reproductive problems. And he was envisioning using condoms for another 20 - 30 years, not to mention the Oops! factor. We've already had one break, and I waited with baited breath for my "friend" to arrive. So - this is what we've decided. First off, I do not have the temperment to be a nice patient mom. Another baby would exacerbate this problem, and that wouldn't be fair to the kids we already have. In addition, one of our children is going to be a wild child, and a discipline problem. That's just his personality. He's been that way since he was born, and is just a fact of life. But knowing this, we know he's going to be a handful for many years to come. My other son has a congenital heart defect. He will definitely be having open heart surgery, and depending when that surgery takes place, maybe many more. Not to mention the possibility of rejection, the risks of the operation itself, and any lasting effects. The medical costs alone, depending on how many operations there are, will be at least $200,000. We don't really know how much of that we will be responsible for yet. It could be more as well. No to mention the actual care of a child with special health needs. I so do not want another child, both care wise and financially, on top of all that. So Jay said he would "get snipped" - I hate that term. I offered to do it myself (on myself not on him!), because I was worried about the psychological ramifications for him, as a fairly young man (he's only 26). But we talked it through, and he would rather do it than have me do it. So, I'm just going to sit back, not argue with him, be grateful, and help him through it.

I joined Weight Watchers with Amy. We go every other week, instead of every week, due to child care issues. I had my first (2) weekly weigh in last night. I lost 5.4 lbs!!! I was worried that I hadn't lost any, 'cause I started my period, and had all that wonderful PMS stuff going on. My goal was 4 lbs for the entire month of January!

0 comments so far

1:36 p.m.